We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We really enjoyed this small, intimate hotel. It had a lovely, restored, old world character. The taxi driver tried to get us to go to a beach hotel, but we were there to see the UNESCO site not the beach and this hotel is a great location for that.
Large,clean,comforable, quiet,modern room.
Good AC
TV with English channels.
Free wifi in the room
Small breakfast buffet, but it had what I wanted to eat and some Asian dishes.
Nice pool and garden.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 799 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great little boutique hotel in historical district of Georgetown. Walking distance to Cheong Fatt Sze and Little India. The building whilst retaining historical features has been restored to a very modern standard so is not dilapidated like we’ve seen in other mansion B&Bs. Communal seating areas to relax with period furniture, current magazines and games. We stayed in a Chulia Suite which was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom, kettle, mini fridge tea and coffee. Bedrooms are small especially once we squeezed in a babycot, but with a suite we had the lounge area to spread out in. Work desk with power points, internet cable, phone and we used Wifi in our room with no problems.
Yes there was noise from street but we chose to stay in the midst of bustling Georgetown to experience local life and its characters. The bedroom was much quieter and our toddler slept through the muezzin early morning call to prayer.
Can’t say enough about how helpful and welcoming the staff are, they all knew us by name and were super kind and helpful to our toddler who availed himself of smiles, cuddles and biscuits at every opportunity.
Food was great and the chef even sent us home with a sample of his delicious chilli belacan sambal. Breakfast buffet offered the usual continental fruit, cereal, toast plus local Chinese, Malay and Indian delicacies.

We have booked to stay again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank merchantofwhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in the Yeng Keng hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed our time there very much. The Yeng Keng is located in the middle of the historical town center, so that with a decent map (provided by the friendly hotel staff) you can explore lots of things on foot. The Chulia Street itself is at first glance not really remarkable - quite busy and noisy, a bit run down, cars and bikes all over the place. But if you go to the surrounding streets and the remarkably numerous temples (we liked the Buddhist ones in particular), you will start liking Georgetown just like we did.

Back to the hotel: It's a beautifully renovated heritage building, tastefully decorated on the inside, and with very modern rooms (see the photos) that are all air conditioned. We had the "Garden Suite" that has a view onto the inner courtyard (which is not so remarkable really), has a decent size and in particular (after our previous experiences in other parts of Malysia) an excellent and modern bathroom. We felt very much at ease here, and although you can hear the call to prayer from time to time, the room itself is really quiet. The bed was comfortable as well, and the staff of the hotel friendly and helpful at all times.

As we arrived by car, it was quite useful that the hotel has a parking lot at the back of the building. - The breakfast was good without being exceptional - a fair amount of choice, fresh fruit, also sausages and other warm food for those who like that. We tried their restaurant as well, and it was ok although you can eat really typical and better cuisine in other places (such as the "32").

The hotel certainly is not cheap, in particular if you compare it to other venues in the neighbourhood - but in my opinion worth the price. I can recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alpina_B3_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Staying at Yeng Keng Hotel will really add to your Penang experience. The hotel is an old Chinese house restored with a lot of taste. Staff is super friendly and helpful. There is a small pool at the back and a nice rest area. Internet is free (wi-fi or guest computer). The location in the heart of the old town is an excellent base to explore the city. Breakfast is tasty with lots of local specialties to try. We found everything perfect.

The only possible improvement we could suggest would be to change the double bed to make it more comfortable and the room less cramped.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed 4 nights an Yeng Keng Hotel and it was a pleasure.
The very warmly welcoming was very comfortable. We were shown around the area and the room. The bathroom is very modern with a big douche.
Take a room across the swimming pool.
The breakfast is with very fresh fruits and you also can have an American breakfast with coffee, bread and marmalade. Try the local fruits and the Omelette!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mseemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

If you're truly looking for a heritage hotel stay, then I think there's more choices out there for around this kind of price. The only thing heritage about this place is the facade and that's about it. The interior is neither here nor there, so the theme isn't carried through out. Breakfast was horrible, so I didn't bother to wake up for it. Service was good and polite, overall cleanliness was good.
Location wise, was good too, quite central to where I wanted to go but for a truly heritage experience, i would say there are more choices out there.

Room Tip: The room facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somadKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We (m/f) stayed for two nights.

PRO:
- Very clean rooms
- Very clean bath room (but quite simple)
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Excellent location in the center of town, and quiet at the same time
- Nice and clean pool

CON:
- Poor breakfast: Small selection, hardly anything left by 9.30, had to pay extra for cappuccino.
- Compared to larger top-class hotels the price is too high (about 20% overpriced).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $77 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing