We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend”
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Great location, beautiful decor, a true boutique hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful. Swimming pool is a big plus in that climate. A taste of heaven. One criticism - room a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suecastano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 794 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

Our stay at the hotel was excellent - the staff were very friendly, and the service in the restaurant was good. Breakfast quality was high also. The hotel is well positioned in Georgetown with easy access to the tourist areas.

Room Tip: Go for a mansion house room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eggmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in a standard room. We were greeted on arrival with cold drink and had our bags taken to our lovely clean and new room. The design and feel of the whole hotel is really welcoming and charming. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. Even made us a few complimentary sandwiches as we had an early departure. Rooms great. Food great. Service great. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguarpaw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I cannot praise this hotel and the staff there highly enough. Not well when I arrived at Yeng Keng Hotel for a relax after 4 weeks in Vietnam. Staff noticed this and were so concerned the receptionist asked if she could make a doctors appointment for me. She actually walked me there after her shift had finished. The G.P. I consulted advised me to see a specialist at the hospital as he was not happy with my condition. I was very grateful and surprised that the Hotel Manager, Jacky Chung, told me that he would drive me there. Not only that, Jacky accompanied me to the specialist rooms and waited until the consult was completed. It was then decided that I needed to be admitted and Jacky stayed with and helped me through the whole procedure, even down to guarantoring me for the hospital account and making sure I was settled in my room before he left. The next day I received a huge basket of flowers and fruit from the management and staff of the Yeng Keng. Amazing! I was overwhelmed by their gestures of care and kindness. I will go back to Penang specifically so that I can stay at this wonderful hotel when I am well. All I can say is this is so far above what one would expect in a foreign country and that I was very fortunate to have booked in there. Thank you all at the Heng Keng.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netballdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

the place is very cozy, albeit cute and small but that makes it very personal and there's less likely to be overcrowding. it is locatedin the middle of town, so a lot of places where within walking distance. the room is pretty and we felt very much at home! staff is friendly and helpful as well!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docbamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

yeng keng was sheer pleasure staying at. the service simply went beyond expectations. the attentiveness and genuineness of the staff made us feel so pampered throughout - e.g. they offered us breakfast on the first check in day when we arrived at 9am, made great food and site-seeing recommendations and arrangements etc. and yeng keng hotel itself was so quaint and full of character, it really made our penang holiday memorable on its own. definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I would highly recommend Yeng Keng. The staff went out of their way to accomodate us and were so friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms were new and clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LH1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 87 in George Town
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#12 of 87 in George Town
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 87 in George Town
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $77 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing