We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Euro Flair”

That Little Wine Bar
Ranked #127 of 881 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Wine Bar, French, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A neighbourhood European wine bar and restaurant with a warm and welcoming ambiance. We accept VISA and Mastercard.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Euro Flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Great little, charming place that offers a nice break from Malay fare. I started with the full body house red which was a little disappointing, so we ordered an Argentian reserve bottle, which was spot on and well priced. We started with a sesame tuna app that was great and a white asparagus salad that would have been better if it hadn't been cooked so long as it was just a bit too mushy. The beef tenderloin was cooked to perfection and had a wonderful sauce to complement it, as well as the mashed yams. The beef tasted a bit different than what I am used to in the US, but it was still good. Dessert was perfect, vanilla ice cream with prunes and an amazing sauce. One of the highlights of the experience was talking with James, the manager. He was very generous with his time and patiently answered all of our inquiries. He gave us some wonderful tips for our visit which greatly enhanced our stay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank La1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    51
    37
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent little gastronomic treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

great service from the bar staff and excellent wine list which is well priced . the food was truly excellent and memorable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply Great Food, Wine & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We visited That Little Wine Bar a few times whilst on holiday from the UK. The ambience is calm and the chairs are the most comfortable I can remember of any restaurant anywhere - we never wanted to leave!

There is an extensive and varied wine list to suit all tastes and the recommendations for pairing wine with food from the staff were most helpful. The pork tenderloin is something I would recommend anyone to try and we were impressed by the pigs cheek special - so beautifully tender.

The little details have been thoughtfully remembered here and Penang's TV chef Tommes clearly expresses his creativity through the menu. It's not in the centre of Georgetown, but for those visiting Penang you won't regret a visit to this delightful place.

Helpful?
Thank simonfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We love That Little Wine Bar: chilled and full of flavour, just like a good wine.
Loved the "Rigatoni with duck rillettes", it was out of this world!
Our favourite place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A touch of Europe in Asia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

For value in Georgetown, best stick to the local cuisine, which is all delicious. Bit if you tire of Tiger beer and hanker after a decent glass or bottle of wine, and don't mind getting out of the centre of town, this place should suit you nicely. The food isn't that exciting or even that good, but the wine list is thoroughly respectable. We had an excellent Torontes from Argentina (of course), and paid no more than one would expect in London.

Overall the bill will be far higher than, say, the best Nonya place in town, but it makes a change. We had none of the problems with service which others have reported, but we did go during the week.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Little Wine Bar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to That Little Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing