We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great, good and bad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of That Little Wine Bar

That Little Wine Bar
Ranked #153 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Wine Bar, French, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A neighbourhood European wine bar and restaurant with a warm and welcoming ambiance. We accept VISA and Mastercard.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great, good and bad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

selection of tapas were great. pizza and selection of cheese and the meat platter were awesome.complimets to the chef.
a mix feeling about the service. we we reccomended the malbec by the lady staff which happens to be a great recommendation. we love the wine. our orders were taken by the male waiter which was also an excellent reccomendation.
wine and food knoweldge cannot be question. they knew what they were talking about and very freindly BUT bills were given by another male staff without being asked. we told him that we didnt ask for the bill but he told us that we were done with our meal so he gave the bill. we didnt want to argue so we settle the bill. we asked the other staff what was the closing time and we were informed that till the last customer go home but it was only around 9pm went we were given our bills. this staff who gave us the bill earlier made a big fuss went we ask for refill of water and he put a jug of water on our table.that was an insult. we asked for our third refill went he did that. that wasnt neccesary.we wanted to go for our second malbec but decided againts it
we actually wanted to complain to the other 2 staffs about the treatment we recieve from this rude person but the problem was that the rude guy wasnt in uniform like the other two staff so we asume he must be incharged so there wasnt a point of pouring out our feeling to the uniform staff. having a mohawk and dresing up smartly doesnt make the service great. anyway great food.
so overall it was a love and hate feeling about the service
service is the heart of a business. it doesnt matter how good the food is, service needs to on the top. bad food with good service always wins but not vice versa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank banks_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    50
    37
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
“the best service and steak house in penang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My visit to that little wine bar was last month (sept), the service and food was excellent. This is the place to be. A must patron. We were served by young girl and guy whom seem to have a plenty of experience. My impression about service at penang has change since coming to that little wine bar. Good service can also be found in this side of the world. Food was just simply the best. Our tenderloin’s were excellent. The best steak ever. The only downfall, sadly to say was the service we receive from another staff who was in plain cloth who came in while we were enjoying our steak. This gentleman was quite a bit of a character. People like him give bad name to the restaurant business. its such a shame that he is a staff at a brilliant restaurant like this. He was a spoiler experience for us. Other than that this is the place to be. We love the service by your two wonderful staff and excellent food from the kitchen.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frankarndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best wine & food discovery on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Unless you're told by a local about this place you're unlikely to just pass by- and there's a very good reason, it's kept a closely guarded secret by those in the know!

We dropped in on a recommendation for a glass of wine and ended up having a meal there. We subsequently visit for a meal or drinks at least once or twice a week and the staff make you feel incredibly welcome.

The restaurant is cosy with a great atmosphere set in a historical town-house building off the Burma road- you may need to book in advance at the weekend but you have to go.

There is a truly amazing selection and cellar of excellent wines from all over the world and the sommelier and chef will happily talk you through a good selection for your meal or even to purchase and take home.

The food is first class as you would expect from the reknowned celebrity chef/owner Tommas who has his own TV cooking show on the Asian Food network. Most importantly the menu changes daily and I would always suggest you choose the recommended special - my first time I had Barramundi fish with fried mango - a combination I would never have chosen normally but was a taste sensation as it worked insanely well together.

If you want a decent choice of interesting wines by the glass or bottle or want to try a European style, relaxed version of a fine-dining meal this is the place to come. But keep it to yourself and don't tell anyone.......oh dear........

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great wines, especially Austrian ones!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We regularly drop in for drinks whenever we are in George Town. Great service and we are always made to feel welcome, no matter how late we may be. We are really into Austrian wines and few places in Malaysia serve these and That Little Wine Bar is a godsend. A pity they do not seem to get their Austrian wines from Austrian wine importers, Sip or slurp? of KL (contact Chris at bonanza.cafe@gmail.com). Recommend this wine bar highly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MVGMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Once is enough...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I agree with one of the reviewers that the food quality is a bit erratic. Obviously it has received a lot of raves and good reviews but my experience was a bit disappointing. I went there to celebrate my 40th birthday with my husband. I made the wrong choice of ordering cornish pasty as my main dish (could have ordered something else but if they cannot do a simple dish then don't even think about other dishes to be nice ) It was awful and disappointing. If I was the head chef honestly I would not let this dish came out of my kitchen.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Edna_Mode_And_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Little Wine Bar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to That Little Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing