We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GLOW Penang
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$176
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$145
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$133
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$70
HotelJen.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$45
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
254
573
190
43
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
573
190
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslollipopswelcome drinklimited parkingmacalister roadwalking distanceparking spacelocal foodsmall gymlorong selamatroad sidestrategic locationfamily roomnew lanepleasant stayswimming poolclean hotelbasic amenities
Filter
Updating list...
980 - 985 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

A friend and I spent a long weekend at the Glow Hotel - the service was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, big welcoming smiles upon arrival…at any time during your stay. We shared a twin room, it was clean and spacious, though not sound proof from the outside world (i.e. you could sometimes hear noise from the hallway and the streets below). The breakfast was included with the room and really generous in its offering, more than just juice, coffee, and toast. While the pool area and gym were small and intimate, I think it was still a bonus. After a long day of sightseeing, it was great to have a place to comfortably hang out.

I highly recommend it if you're looking for a good base in Penang - it was walking distance (8-10 min) from the free shuttle or a 15 MR taxi ride to the jetty or main historic areas. The hotel also offered tours and could arrange great (though pricey) taxi service around the island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NitaTravelsFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOWPenang, General Manager at GLOW Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Dear NitaTravelsFar,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel, we hope that we will be your home away from home again on your next trip!

With warm regards,

Silvan Neuteboom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great new hotel, very modern, room was spacious comfortable and clean. The food was also exceptionally good, nice restaurant and bar. The hotel also has a small gym and a pool which is great. Most important the staff were GREAT very helpful and friendly! All in all it was really worth staying at Glow, and if revisiting Penang this will definitely be my choice of hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smymlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOWPenang, General Manager at GLOW Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Dear Smymlan,

Thank you so much for the great review, it fills me with pride to hear your comments about our associates and I believe the whole team deserves the recognition.

Counting on welcoming you back in the near future!

With warm regards,

Silvan Neuteboom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days - business trip. Reception- friendly and helpful. Parking a bit limited. Room is good, but 1st day was raining and there's leaking at the window and wet the floor. Notified the front desk. Immediately took action- excellent.
Don't like the location of gym. Overall, nice stay for business trip

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Muhamad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOWPenang, General Manager at GLOW Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Dear Muhamad H,

Thank you for the great review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Hope we meet again in the near future!

With warm regards,

Silvan Neuteboom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Beautiful hotel very modern, rooms are spacious, with all mod cons and really comfortable, the food is very good (try the lamb and bread&butter pudding, i was missing home a little) the staff very helpful, alround a great hotel with all the amenities of a five star but a little smaller and much more friendly. Also hawkers market on doorstep, and world class shopping 15mins away.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOWPenang, General Manager at GLOW Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Dear sukyne,

It is great to hear you had such a nice time with us, glad we were able to provide you with a home away from home - especially through the excellent lamb dish and bread & butter pudding :)

We strive to offer you 5 star services and facilities, at a 3 star price; glad we succeeded in that!

See you again soon

With warm regards,

Silvan Neuteboom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The location of Glow Hotel is very strategic. There are a lot of hawker foods nearby the hotel. Our check in was almost immediate after we reached. We booked the family quad room. The room is super spacious and clean. We just simply love the layout and the interior of the room. Modern and Simple. But the aircond need to work harder in order to cool down the room. The staffs are friendly, helpful and effective. Our booking came with complimentary breakfast. The breakfast tasted great. Not to forget, this hotel equipped with small gym and a swimming pool ! The downside is there is no basement car park for the hotel guest. Very limited number of parking space available in front of the hotel. In overall, really worth to stay at Glow ! We enjoyed our stay at Glow.

Room Tip: There is only one family quad room per floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOWPenang, General Manager at GLOW Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Dear Briyde,

Thank you so much for your great review and even better our associates provided you with excellent service!

Hope to see you here again soon!

With warm regards,

Silvan Neuteboom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews