We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, all new mattress, pillow, linen. Great air con rooms. Really lovely staff”
Review of Star Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Lodge
Ranked #43 of 173 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is the next level up to their sister hostel number 75 which is just down the road. Some overseas people actually live here and they are all really nice and friendly. I stayed here twice for over a week in total and will miss it. You might think the rooms lack character but I go for cleanliness any day of the week! Free wifi too.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Star Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

Basic place, with tiled floor and attached bathrooms, but decent value. I paid extra for a/c but the fan rooms are much the same. Staff are pleasingly helpful and the location is fine.

Note that you won't get a response if you email the address on their website, so call by phone or in person to book.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beingkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Upon arriving, we instantly went to Banana Lodge as this place is in every guide book, I looked at a room and was not that impressed (dark, smelly and old looking furniture) so we walked around a bit and found Star Lodge. The owner/manger at reception was so sweet and friendly, gave us a discount for a large room as thats all he had left, not only was it cheaper than Banana but much brighter, newer and cleaner. A typical backpacker room with just bed, table and chair, but nice bright room with clean bedding, air con and a decent wet room (free wifi). There were only sheets on the bed so we asked for a blanket and they happily got us one. Really pleased we stumbled across this place.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claudie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The place is actually take care by a Chinese old man,he is very nice and helpful.He will be willing to teach you where to take the bus and also where you can visit around Georgetown when you need help. Some of the rooms are with air-con while some are not(ceiling fan).It depends on the type of room that you have chosen.Free Wifi and hot shower are provided.You will feel safe in the house as it is 24-hours security.Besides,it is merely a short walking distance from the bus stop.
http://www.starlodge.net/

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yan_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

After staying at a terrible guest house in Batu Ferringhi (BaBa's Guesthouse) we moved to Georgetown. We booked a place at StarLodge a couple of days before and weren't really expecting much.

When we turned up to check in the guy said that they hadn't got a booking for us and the room we wanted was taken. We were a bit annoyed but they offered us a room for 60RM instead of the one we booked for 55RM and we took it. The room was a tripple (so good value if there are three of you) and was big, comfy and clean. It came with aircon and a ceiling fan, there was also free WIFI. The bathroom had a really nice hot shower and the room felt safe.

The main guy that worked there was really helpful (not the one that checked us in) and said that the other room was available the next night if we wanted it but we really liked ours so didn't bother moving. We asked about things to do and places to go in Malaysia in general and booked a coach to Perhentians with their sister company (although it was 10RM more than if you go direct!). On the morning that we were due to check out, we were offered the showers, somewhere to keep our backpacks and use of the WIFI until our bus arrived (at 10pm) which was so helpful after walking around in the heat all day!

There's a food court down the road and it's a short walk to the Komtar shopping center / bus station. Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dv912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Not bad place to spend the night, it is new, clean and the people working were more than helpful. Walking distance from most restaurants, bus stops, places of interest and Penang's premier nightspot - Upper Penang Road. Room looked clean and it was in good shape.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inder_bis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank zeeco1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 85 in George Town
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Penang Guesthouse
Old Penang Guesthouse
#12 of 118 in George Town
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#7 of 118 in George Town
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 118 in George Town
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#26 of 173 in George Town
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 118 in George Town
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Lodge

Address: 39 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Penang
Star Lodge Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing