We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable room with affordable price”
Review of Star Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Lodge
Ranked #39 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The place is actually take care by a Chinese old man,he is very nice and helpful.He will be willing to teach you where to take the bus and also where you can visit around Georgetown when you need help. Some of the rooms are with air-con while some are not(ceiling fan).It depends on the type of room that you have chosen.Free Wifi and hot shower are provided.You will feel safe in the house as it is 24-hours security.Besides,it is merely a short walking distance from the bus stop.
http://www.starlodge.net/

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yan_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

After staying at a terrible guest house in Batu Ferringhi (BaBa's Guesthouse) we moved to Georgetown. We booked a place at StarLodge a couple of days before and weren't really expecting much.

When we turned up to check in the guy said that they hadn't got a booking for us and the room we wanted was taken. We were a bit annoyed but they offered us a room for 60RM instead of the one we booked for 55RM and we took it. The room was a tripple (so good value if there are three of you) and was big, comfy and clean. It came with aircon and a ceiling fan, there was also free WIFI. The bathroom had a really nice hot shower and the room felt safe.

The main guy that worked there was really helpful (not the one that checked us in) and said that the other room was available the next night if we wanted it but we really liked ours so didn't bother moving. We asked about things to do and places to go in Malaysia in general and booked a coach to Perhentians with their sister company (although it was 10RM more than if you go direct!). On the morning that we were due to check out, we were offered the showers, somewhere to keep our backpacks and use of the WIFI until our bus arrived (at 10pm) which was so helpful after walking around in the heat all day!

There's a food court down the road and it's a short walk to the Komtar shopping center / bus station. Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dv912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Not bad place to spend the night, it is new, clean and the people working were more than helpful. Walking distance from most restaurants, bus stops, places of interest and Penang's premier nightspot - Upper Penang Road. Room looked clean and it was in good shape.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inder_bis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank zeeco1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Quevinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank Marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 88 in George Town
1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 88 in George Town
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 88 in George Town
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Lodge

Address: 39 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $16 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Penang
Star Lodge Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing