We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean flophouse”
Review of Star Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Lodge
Ranked #40 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean flophouse”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you want to stay where you are kept up half the night either by the lady down the alley, t.v. or just people talking then stay here. There is a man sleeps by the stairs with shorts on, legs wide open. One of the day staff was asleep, cause he had been drinking earlier during the day. Also we wanted to see a film but the night staff moaned. We saw men and women come in, then leave in a hour. It is clean and cheap but that is all it has going for it.

Room Tip: might be better up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_joy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
40
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights in a twin room with private bathroom- cost 55MR a night.

Great location for town and also the majority of rapid penang buses leave from street nearby to go to other parts of island.

Rooms were big and clean. I note alot of reviews comment on noise. Agreed there was some from the lady in the alley.

Front staff are helpful: booked onward travel to Langkawi with them.Also got laundry done at short notice.

Great value room. Strongly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Watchout: there is a homeless women sreaming and shouting every few seconds throughout the night. Every 30 minutes she beats heavily with a wodden lath onto the alleys metal handles, which sounds like construction works. Even with my industrial earplugs I could not sleep at all (this is very very seldom).
She has here standard "sleeping" place directly below the rooms iat the end of the hotels corridor.
WiFi is not working good, it took many trails, when you pass the wrong router in the hotel it is not working for several hours on your iphone! Manager though friendly not able to help you.

Bed frame was broken, we fell down 2-3 times during night.
Rooms are clean, but not nicely decorated. We had one of the bigger rooms with balcony and AC for 75 RM. After 2 sleepless nights we changed to nearby hotel oriental for 80 RM where you can sleep well.

Room Tip: If you have no other choice than this hotel only take one of the rooms in the beginning, maybe there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the price was o.k. They promised us a room at 12 pm and when we arrived they had rented to out, so they gave us a bigger room for a discount but still more than our original room quote. The real problem came during the night with the noise. The Star is located on an alley that is frequented by some unsavory types that yelled at all hours of the night. The hallway in the Star is also very long and is an echo chamber you can hear people walking and talking at all times.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

dont book any tickets back to thailand wih these idiots, they said it takes 10 hours but we had to take a night boat which ended up taking more than 24! they said it was a big bus but it was all mini vans and they charged us to have our entry cards electronically filled out.. unbelieveable. once we arrived in thailand and called for clarification they acted like they didnt know us. we will be telling all our friends in georgetown to tell their friends not to stay at this awful place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YoYo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location is very good, in the center and there is a bus stop of the free shuttle bus nearby. The room was spacious and aircon and shower worked well. The only downside was that the bathroom would smell at times and the place was full of ants (the ground floor, the upper one might not have this problem), but we didn't mind too much because arriving from Thailand we were used to having them in the room. The staff is ver peculiar, a group of elderly men who run this place plus 75 Travellers lodge and W&A cafe down the road, they all are very nice and helpful. The wifi didn't work in the room, just in the lobby and wasn't very strong, but you can always go to the W&A cafe for a very good signal. We arranged a transport to Cameron Highlands through the guesthouse and all went fine. Would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Found this hotel to be of good value and clean.

The location was quiet, was a bit concerned at window that opened into the alleyway that ran along beside the hotel which had a stinking sewer (like all streets in Georgetown) but it was fine.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dejayspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 84 in George Town
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Penang Guesthouse
Old Penang Guesthouse
#12 of 113 in George Town
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#27 of 170 in George Town
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
MoonTree 47
MoonTree 47
#10 of 113 in George Town
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 113 in George Town
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Lodge

Property: Star Lodge
Address: 39 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Penang
Star Lodge Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing