We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Quirky Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
Ranked #20 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“A Small Quirky Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The room and facilities were good but not outstanding. We had moved to the MTP from the luxury E&O hotel. and could not expect the same quality room and facilities. What made the MTP a great experience was the staff ( HK, the manager in particular). Our every request was handled efficiently and with a smile. Maps were printed out for all out walking tours. My wife who is allergic to eggs, was given tasty local egg free breakfasts. HK even took us one morning as her guests to a local Yum Char for breakfast.

The MTP is well located in an up market residential/restaurant district abort 30 minutes walk from the heart of Georgetown. In the other direction, it is only 30 minutes to the big shopping centres.

Would stay there again if we visit Penang again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    82
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
98
127
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

On a 3D2N trip in a group of 4 in 2nd week of Dec 2013, the whole of level 2 belongs to us :-)

Rooms and toilet are literally spacious and clean! It gives a very homely feel.
Team at Mango Tree place are friendly people providing place to go for the locals and the yummy-licious hearty breakfast that we are still craving for the cha kway tiao.
Without the recommendation from the lady we would have missed out on the Gems of Penang.
For the very first time, we ditched our orignal planned itinery and reschedule the place to go for on trips.
What a waste that we had only stayed for 2 nights, definitely good for stress-free retreat.

The only cons :
Location wise - abeit off from the main George Town but it's definitely manageable with the morning drop-off from the staff or a cab ride of 10 mins away (slow moving traffic).

Thanks Suitekeeper! Keep up with the zest service :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhenqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We really enjoyed Mango Tree Place. It had a lot of charm and was a nice change from a bigger hotel. The Malaysian breakfast was truly fantastic! The staff was super friendly and went above and beyond to help us plan places to go and other things. The room was very spacious and had a unique charm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmp920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I visited the Mango Tree Place at the end of 2013 for 3 days. We both felt it was a great place to stay at. The rooms are large and have everything you need at your convenience. The staff is great too and always willing to help. For some the English of some staff could be better, but in the end we always managed to find the answer to our questions.

What I specifically like about this place is it's conciousness with of the environment, using LED lighting in most places and requesting visitors to help in saving energy.

All together a lovely place to stay, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our family reunion stay at Mango Tree Place. The team were extremely accommodating from first contact with Wei till our departure. When we arrived well before check-in time, they allowed us to park our luggage in the unit whilst it was still being prepared, and then gave us helpful information for local sightseeing and food.

We were given number 21, and the decor and fit-out has been done in such a way to preserve the old-style charm but yet provide a contemporary feel with modern touches. There is plenty of room for families with children to allow them to run around compared to a hotel room - perfect for our needs.

We would highly recommend this as a comfortable, quiet and clean place to stay, with a central location to food eateries, and also the heart of Georgetown city. Thanks Mango Tree Place team for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aushades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We loved the place the moment we stepped in. The decor was beautiful, with a contemporary but vintage / old school feel to it. The owners have put in a lot of thoughts and efforts in decorating the place. The room were very cosy, spacious and airy, unlike a typical cramped hotel room. Lots of privacy. The decor and architecture somehow makes the room very cooling. We didn't even need to switch on the aircon despite the hot weather in Penang! The internet is fast. Breakfast was really good and sumptuous, with local fare such as char kway trow and the peranakan kuehs. A nice departure from the usual intercontinental breakfast. The place is quite centrally located, and easily accessible to most of the tourist spots by cab or by walking. There are hawker food, spas and convenience stores just right outside the hotel. The service is impeccable. The owners and staff are very attentive and friendly. We missed our breakfast and they were so kind as to send the food to our room. Wei the owner was very helpful and nice to chat with, giving us recommendation to all the places in Penang. She made us feel very at home the moment we arrived. Thank you, Wei! Staying in Mango Tree Place was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llyannll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Mango Tree Place. The rooms and toilets were clean and the housekeeping service was excellent. The breakfast was tasty but it could be better if we could choose from among a few different cuisine; it can get quite mundane if we stay for more than two days.
The elfaro wine bar down jalan burma is a good recommendation though it is slightly pricey. The food and tapas are good. The suite keepers always try their best to accommodate our last minute requests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSG246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.2 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
803 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934

Property: Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
Address: No 29 Jalan Phuah Hin Leong, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in a quiet area of town just outside the hustle and bustle of the center.Mango Tree Place in Georgetown,Malaysia provides guests with the perfect getaway spot to really relax and enjoy your vacation. This 3 star Boutique Bed & Breakfast is just a 10 minute walk to a wide array of restaurants, shops and cafes so finding something to do is easier than ever. Guests of the Mango Tree Place will enjoy an intimate setting with the friendly staff who are more than willing to lend you a helping hand and give you insider tips on all the historic sights of Georgetown. So, get ready to explore this UNESCO World Heritage city. Great location and surroundings, professional staff and useful facilities make this Georgetown Boutique B&B an unbeatable place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Place Hotel Georgetown
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing