We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this gorgeous and friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
Ranked #23 of 177 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I loved this hotel. It was small and personal, with huge rooms - mine had a courtyard with a swing! Very very friendly and helpful staff and the most delicious hotel breakfast I have probably ever had. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town but this means it's in a nice peaceful part of town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 336 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail of the hosts was amazing, they went the extra mile to ensure that your laundry was done, restaurant reservations were taken care of, you got a lift into town, and a local breakfast was cooked fresh every morning. The room was stocked with everything you might need for your trip and spotlessly clean. With such a level of personal service there is nothing to fault about the Mango Tree. The young and innovative team who have created the Mango Tree have used fantastic, cutting edge interior design and incorporated this into historical Georgetown, and you are contributing to its preservation by staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry_in_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

mango tree place is the best hotel we've stayed in penang! staff performance was simply perfect was very helpful & friendly, she guided us all the way from town to the hotel via phone and when we arrived, she welcomed us with a beautiful smile and cold juice. we had a fantastic and romantic stay at mango tree place and will definitely go back again soon. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's new. The rooms are spacious and the staff are friendly. For example, the innkeeper suddenly recalled a restaurant that he thought I would like. So he searched for the address on the internet and wrote it on a piece of paper. He took the trouble to come to my room, pass me the piece of paper, and explained why he thought I would like it. This kind of gestures are gonna warm your heart. The rooms and facilities are rather new. I booked a family suite and I had the upper floor all to myself. Breakfast is included and it is worth it to get up early and try it. You will be amused. The food is heartfully prepared. Never been so satisfied with an accommodation but if you go to Penang you MUST try Mango Tree Place.

Ming.Y from Rhode Island United States

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ming Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Mango Tree Place for two nights. The staff make you feel right at home. The rooms are very spacious and our room even included a small garden. The breakfast was decent and when we left early they gave a packed breakfast which was very thoughtful. The Mango Tree Place is about 10 minutes walk to the city center. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitpuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everything about this place is superb. From the service to the breakfast! Don't bother to go to more expensive hotels if you are in Penang. This place is where you should stay.

Do take note of the high occupancy rate though. The only regret we had was we didn't book to stay longer which we should have! Looking forward to stay at this place again and this time it will be a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvloh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had short stay only 1 night at MTP, however it was a memorable one. Our suite-keeper is the best. Very helpful, accommodating, courteous, efficient and great effort given to ensure we had comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thanks Kelvin!

Room is amazing. First time we had a courtyard and separate reading room at same time! Bed is oh so nice and bathroom is spacious.

We decided that we'll come again, of course!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.1 mi away
Mango Tree Place - Hideaway
Mango Tree Place - Hideaway
#6 of 177 in George Town
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lang Hoose
Lang Hoose
#18 of 177 in George Town
148 reviews
1 mi away
Betel Nut Lodge
Betel Nut Lodge
#5 of 177 in George Town
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Islander Lodge
Islander Lodge
#19 of 177 in George Town
47 reviews
1 mi away
Noordin Street House
Noordin Street House
#22 of 177 in George Town
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
WeLuv Travel Guesthouse
WeLuv Travel Guesthouse
#17 of 177 in George Town
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934

Address: No 29 Jalan Phuah Hin Leong, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $46 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in a quiet area of town just outside the hustle and bustle of the center.Mango Tree Place in Georgetown,Malaysia provides guests with the perfect getaway spot to really relax and enjoy your vacation. This 3 star Boutique Bed & Breakfast is just a 10 minute walk to a wide array of restaurants, shops and cafes so finding something to do is easier than ever. Guests of the Mango Tree Place will enjoy an intimate setting with the friendly staff who are more than willing to lend you a helping hand and give you insider tips on all the historic sights of Georgetown. So, get ready to explore this UNESCO World Heritage city. Great location and surroundings, professional staff and useful facilities make this Georgetown Boutique B&B an unbeatable place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Place Hotel Georgetown
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934 Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing