We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Penang Guesthouse
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I arrived on a very hot afternoon and were immediately very impressed with the guesthouse. The location is fantastic and the building is beautiful. It has been looked after well and felt more like a hotel than a guesthouse/hostel. The staff are lovely and extremely helpful when it comes to information about the town/transport etc. We also liked the fact that it was a real mix of guests-some backpackers, families, older travellers and single travellers. Maybe not the place if you are looking for wild parties, but those opportunities are also not too far away. For the price, you couldn't really ask for much more, especially since a breakfast of toast and fruit is included, as well as unlimited tea and coffee.
Down the road on Stewart 'lane', if you turn left, there is a nice little bar, and on Love Lane itself is a very cool gallery selling some nice prints and handmade items, but it's only open after 5pm. Also we found a woman on Lebuh Carnavon (very close to the corner with Lebuh Kimberly) who sells absolutely delicious pastry goodies from a little stand on the street- they were some of the best things we ate there. Try and find her-she's great!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 392 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in the 12 bedroom dormitory. I had good sleep there since everybody keep their noise low, and they have the quite time. Unfortunately the room is perfectly enclosed so no light come from the outside, so every time looks like night in the room, and I ended up woke up late every morning.
unlike other dormitory hostels I ever been, they give towel for guest, which is very helpful. The bathrooms are clean (there are more toilet in the upper floor). the staffs are helpfull. the breakfast just like any other backpacker hostels, but too bad the tea and coffee only availlable during breakfast.
there are locker provided for every guests, but remember to bring your own lock

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I've spent 4 nights there. The location is perfect, near to town but not on the main road, so no traffic noise at night.
The receptionist is a really nice person who will help wherever she can, even with booking things not connected to the guesthouse at all.
I had a double room, there was no single room available. Very spacey, nice, with wooden floor and reading lamp. Everything perfectly clean, the shared showers & toilets are cleaned many times a day.
Colonial style hotel feeling in a guesthouse!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The building that this hostel is in is stunning and the inside décor is amazing also. The twin room we had was clean and had air con. Bathroom were clean also and the showers great. The location is great, everything around that you need. Breakfast is included and was good also. There are computers available to use. I found staff helpful and friendly. No complaints about this hostel - possibly the best one we stayed in during our time travelling around Malaysia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

so we went to penang and searched for places to stay at. old penang guesthouse came in as a favorite. what with it's old colonial style architecture and it's quite central location and it's relatively affordable rate, who would go anywhere else? it still delivered, despite the creaking floors...

the place was clean. the staff were friendly. you get breakfast. no bed bugs. sometimes, thats all we really need...

it was near chulia street and you can walk to Line Clear to work up an appetite for the best briyani you will ever have in your entire stay in penang

*extra*
-there is a laundry shop along love lane, where your white clothes turn yellow after they are done washing them. i know it has nothing to do with old penang guesthouse, but some of us want our soiled clothes washed while traveling, and some of us prefer our white clothes to remain white or even dirty white, but not turn yellow...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamo_gwapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights recently and loved it!

It is located down Love Lane which is very central. There are mini marts nearby and also places to eat, including the famous hawker stalls.

I stayed in a dorm room and it was very clean with great shared shower/toilet facilities.

A breakfast is included in the price (quite rare for a hostel) and they have bread and a toaster, jams, fresh fruit. Tea and coffee is served free of charge until 5pm too. You can have water whenever you like.

The best part of this hostel is the lovely old building and the friendly staff. They are so helpful.

One of the nicest places I have stayed!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank rachelstravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I went here for the first time and the receptionist is really friendly. The building looks old with the woods and all. They serve breakfast and its a self service. The beds are really comfortable and the dorm/facilities there fits with the price. But one thing that i dislike is they have a quiet hour from 9pm till 8am which you can't switch on the tv, play the computer. After 12 midnight they will close the front door and if you were to be outside you just have to press a doorbell and they'll let you in. Looking forward to stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank zafranzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 87 in George Town
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 123 in George Town
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#4 of 123 in George Town
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#3 of 123 in George Town
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#6 of 123 in George Town
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Court
Red Inn Court
#20 of 123 in George Town
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Penang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Penang Guesthouse

Address: 53 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 123 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $15 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Penang Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Penang Guesthouse is a beautifully restored pre-war building in the historic city of Penang, Malaysia and still retains much of its old world charm. It is believed to have been constructed more than 80 years ago. It is especially important as an example of a very early shop house prototype. From the original mosaic-tiled flooring, intricate artwork, inner courtyard and to wooden shuttered windows, every aspect echoes the history of the region, and offers a beguiling journey through this enchanting heritage. It is a best accommodation for travelers who seeking for budget heritage stay. The design integrates old with new, modern with historic, ensuring that the total experience is one that is authentic, honouring the past while bringing every modern convenience to bear. Let's explore the heritage and find your old time memory here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Old Penang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Penang Guesthouse Hotel Georgetown
Old Penang Guesthouse George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing