We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Penang Guesthouse
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Historic Feeling”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place has a very historic feel as if it just came out of some D. H. Lawrence novel. As lovely as the setting was, the rooms were spare but clean and decent. The shared bathrooms were clean. The WiFi was decent. Breakfast was basic coffee and toast. Being in the middle of backpacker central, we found it convenient for getting around.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FatHelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    158
    62
    11
    16
See reviews for
24
123
99
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived at the Old Penang Guesthouse after a long bus journey from the Cameron highlands and were shown straight to our twin room. The building is fantastic, and the large staircase and wooden floorboards leading to our room gave the hostel a traditional feel. We were based in Room number One at the end of the corridor with windows looking out onto the street. Showers powerful and toilets clean and never had to wait for one to be free.
Location is awesome - 15mins from the Jetty, 10 mins to KOMTAR and there is a 7/11 and major bus stop heading both directions less than 2mins away.

Our issues came when it was time for bed - room 1 lies above the reception and the floorboards aren't exactly soundproof - you could see through the small gaps downstairs. This meant that any one sitting downstairs at the laptops or under the balcony was heard by us - nearly ever word, as was the blaring music coming from Reggae bar two doors down (until 12.30 even on Sunday). Granted, the hotel could do little about this, but it did make our stay that less enjoyable as it took us a while to get to sleep. Even when the bar were told to turn it down as there were about three people inside just watching the football, they didn't listen.

Room Tip: Avoid room one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_L_R93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPenang, Manager at Old Penang Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi, thanks for the review. We're sorry about the noise issue during your stay with us. We cannot change the wooden floor as to keep the heritage building style. However, we are planning to provide complimentary ear plug for light sleepers. You may request a less noisier room and we'll try our best to arrange for you. Do enjoy the rest of your trip and hope to see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We simply loved Old Penang Guesthouse! It's slap bang in the middle of the old town.The price is fantastic. We payed around AU$36/night (MR105) for the triple room ($12 or MR35 per person per night).
The old building is absolutely charming. The breakfast was great for a free breakfast - toast, fresh fruit & tea or coffee. The shared bathrooms are all you need - plus they are very well kept. Our triple room (for myself, my husband and our 14yr old daughter) was great and the beds are pretty good. The only gripe I think I'd have is that on one section of the double bed it felt like there was a spring sticking up a bit. But it was still comfortable compared to most of the beds we have stayed at in similar priced accommodation. The inside eating area is lovely, or you can sit out the front and watch the goings on in beautiful old Love lane.
I noticed other people have written that the walls are paper thin and that noise was an issue - we didn't notice this once during our 3 night stay.
We met another Aussie couple on our first night in Georgetown who told us they weren't very happy with their (more expensive) accommodation, so we recommended Old Penang Guesthouse to them and they were rapt when they managed to get a room the next day. They also loved it.
I really don't think you could go past this place for value and "quaint-ness"!
We loved it so much we're going back in a couple of weeks. In fact we arranged our dates in Georgetown around the available dates at Old Penang guesthouse. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursenatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This guesthouse was very clean. The toilettes / showers upstairs were very pleasant because they were wuite newly renovated. We staid in a private single room the two of us. A thick and very comfortable mattress was arranged for us since we were two persons in the single room. The breakfast was included in the price. The brakfast was simple but tasty. The price was good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in the 12 bed dorm. Room was air conditioned, other travellers were respectful and had a good night's rest. Excellent location in a beautiful old lane way of Georgetown. Breakfast is decent, too. Bathrooms are a bit smelly but otherwise ok. Very cheap price and great value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nights in a private room with bath.

+ very nice and clean room (althoug with no window)
+ friendly and helpful staff (good laundry service and bus tickets)
+ good breakfast
+ well located in Penang (which is one of our favourite city)
+ nice kitchen
+ free and good wifi

what could be improved in our view:
- provide early breakfast (i.e. before 7am), if guest leaves

our conclusion: highly recommended, we would for sure stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naestved, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was incredibly impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of this well-preserved Pernakan house, considering the open doors and closeness to the hustle and bustle of Chulia Street. Walking-distance from the night stalls, convenient stores, bus stops - it really is in a great location! Breakfast is out on time for early risers and WIFI works as far as the lounging chairs outside the entrance. If you like a hard mattress, the mattresses are a godsend, as are the hot showers and the machine for free water refills.

Though her manner was cold, the receptionist who worked in the day was more than helpful in recommending hawker stalls a few streets across for dinner and for pointing us in the right direction. The outdoor music from the Reggae Mansion backpacker's lodge three doors down can be heard in the early evening (which could be good or bad depending on your taste in music) but I was glad it could not be heard in the room when I did want to sleep.

I found that this guesthouse, perhaps for its professionalism in terms of staff and quality of the rooms, is popular not only for backpackers but for businessmen as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashiita32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 116 in George Town
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#6 of 116 in George Town
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Penang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Penang Guesthouse

Property: Old Penang Guesthouse
Address: 53 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 116 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Penang Guesthouse is a beautifully restored pre-war building in the historic city of Penang, Malaysia and still retains much of its old world charm. It is believed to have been constructed more than 80 years ago. It is especially important as an example of a very early shop house prototype. From the original mosaic-tiled flooring, intricate artwork, inner courtyard and to wooden shuttered windows, every aspect echoes the history of the region, and offers a beguiling journey through this enchanting heritage. It is a best accommodation for travelers who seeking for budget heritage stay. The design integrates old with new, modern with historic, ensuring that the total experience is one that is authentic, honouring the past while bringing every modern convenience to bear. Let's explore the heritage and find your old time memory here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Old Penang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Penang Guesthouse Hotel Georgetown
Old Penang Guesthouse George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing