We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes for budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Penang Guesthouse
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The guesthouse is located right in the thick of it in Georgetown. Plenty of bars/restaurants/attractions to choose from close by.

The guesthouse itself is clean, rooms are spacious. We had a private double with en suite. Great value for money particularly as breakfast is included (toast, hot drinks and fruit).

The only down side is that there is a stage outside nearby with loud music/singing from early evening, however it does promptly stop at 12. Makes it impossible to get an early-ish night! I'm not sure this is a permanent fixture though.

Don't let this put you off as it is a great hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senttocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 391 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in an A/C room upstairs overlooking the common area for 3 nights in April 2013.

The Good:
Everything. No seriously, this place is amazing.
Location is spot-on.
Atmosphere was perfect. We wanted to move in.
Breakfast of fruit, toast and tea/coffee was pretty good.
Hot showers.
Comfy beds.

The Bad:
Internet is slow in rooms, forcing you to hang out in the wonderful common area.
Not the cheapest place, but you pay for what you get. And you get quality.
For some, the shared bathrooms - but they are really modern (polished cement walls and new sinks) and always clean.

The Ugly:
Staying in any Georgetown guesthouse besides this one. It was one of the nicest places we've stayed so far in 4 months.

Old Penang's entrance and interior:
http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/49127752697/it-was-early-as-our-cramped-bus-rattled-down-the

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABadIdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Hostel seemed social and has a very colonial-style feel - a nice launching pad for exploring the streets of Penang.

Breakfast was simple - coffee, tea, toast, and jam.

Great location, Cheap, quick laundry service and a very helpful staff.

Gay-friendly.

Now the negative: The a/c in our double private room didn't work well at all. We had to leave it on when we left the room in order to have any cooling effect. Otherwise it was very quaint.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNAinSEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPenang, Manager at Old Penang Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi, thanks for the review. We've improved the air conditioner. Please feel free to request any assistance from reception. We love to see you in near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we stayed here 2 nights. It is a good location to explore Georgetown and Penang. The room is clean and safe, the bathroom and toilet are also. Living area is large and comfortable, i have some value friends from this area. The motor cycle service for rent is close there.

The wifi is slightly slow and fail in a processing and a normal welcome with normal help from the receptionist.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Decent place with friendly staff, shared bathrooms and showers were clean and room was comfortable. Only thing is the stairs are really squeaky and place is also quite popular with young people so a night it could be a bit loud, bring your earplugs. Good location, within walking distance of many things and mini terrace in front. Basic breakfast was included and staff was friendly. Rates decent for Malaysia, we stayed next door at first where our room was much smaller and more expensive, so it was worth the swap!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's very easy to reach this guest house from the airport. Located in the love lane which in the core part of georgetown. Hawker foodstall, bar and restourant was everywhere, literally. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in female dorm, the room is clean with proper pillow and matress. Eventhough i stayed in a bunk, i had my own reading lamp and electricity plug near my bed. They provided me with clean pillow too and the laundry service was cheap which was verya important to me.


The thing i dont like is about the internet connection. Its very slow and often failed even for simple local data search.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Rusme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPenang, Manager at Old Penang Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi, thanks for the review. We do hope you've a great stay here! We've also improve the Internet connection and hope to see you in near future. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent guesthouse and I would recommend it to anyone. The room rates are good, the place is clean and the lady at the front desk was very lovely and helpful during my stay! Breakfast was good too, they have coffee, tea, toast, jam and even fruits (papaya and watermelon). The laundry service was also of very good quality, I got my clothes back the same day and they were ironed and inside a sealed plastic bag, something most guesthouses and hostels wouldn't even bother to do.

The only downside is that there are 6 bunk beds in the dorm room, so if it's fully booked it can get quite difficult to sleep with 12 people moving around in the same room. However, this is still a great guesthouse and I give it five stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vd1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#34 of 87 in George Town
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 87 in George Town
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 87 in George Town
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 119 in George Town
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#6 of 119 in George Town
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#5 of 119 in George Town
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Penang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Penang Guesthouse

Address: 53 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 119 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Penang Guesthouse is a beautifully restored pre-war building in the historic city of Penang, Malaysia and still retains much of its old world charm. It is believed to have been constructed more than 80 years ago. It is especially important as an example of a very early shop house prototype. From the original mosaic-tiled flooring, intricate artwork, inner courtyard and to wooden shuttered windows, every aspect echoes the history of the region, and offers a beguiling journey through this enchanting heritage. It is a best accommodation for travelers who seeking for budget heritage stay. The design integrates old with new, modern with historic, ensuring that the total experience is one that is authentic, honouring the past while bringing every modern convenience to bear. Let's explore the heritage and find your old time memory here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Penang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Penang Guesthouse Hotel Georgetown
Old Penang Guesthouse George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing