We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Penang Guesthouse
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Decent place with friendly staff, shared bathrooms and showers were clean and room was comfortable. Only thing is the stairs are really squeaky and place is also quite popular with young people so a night it could be a bit loud, bring your earplugs. Good location, within walking distance of many things and mini terrace in front. Basic breakfast was included and staff was friendly. Rates decent for Malaysia, we stayed next door at first where our room was much smaller and more expensive, so it was worth the swap!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    158
    58
    11
    16
See reviews for
24
118
99
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It's very easy to reach this guest house from the airport. Located in the love lane which in the core part of georgetown. Hawker foodstall, bar and restourant was everywhere, literally. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in female dorm, the room is clean with proper pillow and matress. Eventhough i stayed in a bunk, i had my own reading lamp and electricity plug near my bed. They provided me with clean pillow too and the laundry service was cheap which was verya important to me.


The thing i dont like is about the internet connection. Its very slow and often failed even for simple local data search.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rusme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPenang, Manager at Old Penang Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi, thanks for the review. We do hope you've a great stay here! We've also improve the Internet connection and hope to see you in near future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent guesthouse and I would recommend it to anyone. The room rates are good, the place is clean and the lady at the front desk was very lovely and helpful during my stay! Breakfast was good too, they have coffee, tea, toast, jam and even fruits (papaya and watermelon). The laundry service was also of very good quality, I got my clothes back the same day and they were ironed and inside a sealed plastic bag, something most guesthouses and hostels wouldn't even bother to do.

The only downside is that there are 6 bunk beds in the dorm room, so if it's fully booked it can get quite difficult to sleep with 12 people moving around in the same room. However, this is still a great guesthouse and I give it five stars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vd1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The building is beautiful, just like you would expect from the famous heritage of Georgetown. It's in the center and you can easily walk everything.
The rooms are clean, just like the shared facilities (toilet, bathroom, kitchen, common areas).
Breakfast is included and basic (toast with jam, tea and coffee). Drinking water is provided in coolers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marloes020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building and great location but that could be said for most of the hostels in Georgetown.

Clean bathrooms and communal areas.

The wifi and hardwired internet are both way too slow and frequently fail completely. Frustrating when trying to Skype or just get local info. Ending up using local cafe so all was not lost but its a shame they haven't spent a few extra pennies to provide decent Internet.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank big_j99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPenang, Manager at Old Penang Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear big_j88

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us review.
We are sincerely apologize on the Internet problem. After read your review, we have investigated and changed the internet router immediately.

Hope you will stay with us again and have a nice trip!

Old Penang Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've been here for 10 days or so now and staying another 5. It's a really nice place, not too luxurious but very clean and consistent. It's always full. I've stayed in four different rooms so far and they are all equally well equiped. Staff is friendly, stuff runs on time and always the same. The wifi could be better, but you can pick up the neighbors wifi for free as well (Red Inn). Would come back any time. AC works well in all the rooms. Bedding and bathrooms/showers are very clean and cleaned 2-3 times a day. I had my own room(s), but there are female only dorms as well as mixed dorms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The place was great, breakfast included, cheap dorm room and the option of a female dorm. Good social area with a tv and films and internet access. However, the staff on front desk were unhelpful and made me feel slightly unwelcome. Plus the gates close at 12pm so arriving back later than that means having to wake up a member of staff and be let in...doesn't put you in their good books i'm sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#5 of 112 in George Town
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 112 in George Town
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#6 of 112 in George Town
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Penang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Penang Guesthouse

Property: Old Penang Guesthouse
Address: 53 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Penang Guesthouse is a beautifully restored pre-war building in the historic city of Penang, Malaysia and still retains much of its old world charm. It is believed to have been constructed more than 80 years ago. It is especially important as an example of a very early shop house prototype. From the original mosaic-tiled flooring, intricate artwork, inner courtyard and to wooden shuttered windows, every aspect echoes the history of the region, and offers a beguiling journey through this enchanting heritage. It is a best accommodation for travelers who seeking for budget heritage stay. The design integrates old with new, modern with historic, ensuring that the total experience is one that is authentic, honouring the past while bringing every modern convenience to bear. Let's explore the heritage and find your old time memory here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Penang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Penang Guesthouse Hotel Georgetown
Old Penang Guesthouse George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing