We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming guesthouse in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Penang Guesthouse
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We booked a double room with shared bathroom and ended up with a room at the back of the guest house overlooking the street behind Love Lane. The room was nice and spacious with a clothes horse to air / dry clothes and towels - this was a nice change from most hostels we've stayed at which don't have enough hooks to hang things from. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The only issue with the room was the noise during the night and morning. Some nights we'd be woken from dogs barking and in the mornings the carpenter would start work. This could be a problem if you enjoy sleeping in or are a light sleeper.

The bathrooms and common areas were kept impeccably clean. We really liked the upstairs shared bathroom area as it was outside and well ventilated. There was also an area to drip dry our clothes and gear. The showers had good pressure and were easily adjustable - they were by far the best we have had in Malaysia so far.

The common area was nice for relaxing and had the best wifi access (the rooms were a bit patchy). This is a busy hostel so there were many people coming and going - we were thinking of staying an extra night but the place was completely booked out so book early if you want a spot. The guests were a mix of old and young but there were a large number of mature travellers so this is definitely not a party hostel but then Penang isn't exactly a party town either.

Breakfast is provided until 12PM but is only white toast with jam and tropical fruit (watermelon, papaya). For a free breakfast it's pretty good. We would normally have some toast and then head out for some breakfast from the nearby stalls or dim sim restaurants around Lebuh Campbell. There are so many food stalls in the area you won't have to worry about walking far to find food or a snack. The lady on the corner diagonally opposite the 7-11 does fantastic spicy char kway teow for only MYR3.50. There is also a small coffee stall further up Lebuh Chulia that does roti kaya for 60 sen and kopi-o for under MYR1. There are plenty more options - you just need to explore the side lanes and try where ever the locals are eating.

Room Tip: Book early to get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 391 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

I had a very pleasant 5 nights here. The old building itself is beautiful, and though the room I stayed in was fairly spartan (two bunk beds, four lockers, a bin and an aircon unit in a small, windowless room), the beds were comfy and others guests were not too loud. The walls are rather thin, so you can hear if there's a loud snorer next door, or even just people talking or moving things about. Breakfast was also a bit sparse, but at least there's something there in the morning if you don't want to go out and scavenge the street stalls.

The staff were really helpful and friendly, and the place is so clean! Only small problem was that the wifi was patchy upstairs. Then again, it's nice to sit in the lovely old common area downstairs for extended browsing sessions rather than a small windowless room!

The location is good too - really close to Chinatown and Little India, and not far from the main bus terminal.

Overall, a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Have a torch or similar handy for windowless rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diversion-Tia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We only managed to book a couple of nights at the Old Penang Guesthouse - the place is too damn popular! Great location on Love Lane, right in the centre of the action in Georgetown.

Surrounded by dirt cheap food which was fantastically tasty, and located in one of the stunning tropical colonial buildings which had been cleaned to within an inch of its life and renovated into a great place to stay. Our ensuit was great, good water pressure and tidy set up. Had no problems with the aircon or noise. Wi fi was a bit dodgy upstairs, but perfectly servicable in the common area downstairs, and there were free computers available for those without laptops. Particularly liked the gorgeous dark wood floors in the bedrooms, and the (presumably) original mosaic tiling on the btoom floor. Airy and bright, with wooden shutters and great ambience, I would highly recommend!

The organised our transfer to Pulau Perhentian, which was door to door service, no stress and almost as cheap as public transport. We were hugely impressed with it - it even included our speed boat to the island.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessHock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My girlfriend and i choose to stayed at Old Penang everytime we went to Penang.
We're both students.
Room : We stayed at the Double Room wt shared bathroom which only for RM65! The room is clean, tidy, and quite big tho, as a budget hotel. Unfortunately the light was abit too dark, romantic but not suitable for reading. (only two small lights at the both side of your bed) and the hanger behind the door was too thick to hang my clothes.
Shared Bathroom : We are satisfied with the bathroom since its clean and big, water heater provided. The roof is my fav kind of design, which is visible for sunlight! Altho its just a budget hotel but the bathroom's facilities are from Johnson Suisse. They also provided slippers if you dont want to get ur feets wet.
Design : Old Penang is my fav old england building with Nan-Yang style of interior design! Cozy, cool and relaxing. The roof as i mentioned, was design to be visible for sunlights, warm and saving electricity at the mean time.
Hide and Seek : Its abit hard to be found at first due to the small sign they got. low profile you can say? hah! The tips is that when u reached love lane, when u saw the 7-11 at the corner, turn into the small alley right away. The hotel is at your right handside.
Conclusion : Its a BUDGET guesthouse and they are actually providing good and basic facilities ( pls refer to their website). Clean and Tidy of course. Suitable for backpackers & students. Last but not least, they got my fav kind of design!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanielKuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I agree that it is indeed a charming place, great location & value yet the room gave me a very unpleasant feeling during my 1 night stay to try the place out. Perhaps it was the age of the place and the yellow light though the room was really clean and bed comfy. Couldn't rest well cause I felt quite uncomfortable sleeping in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porcupinechow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

we,mature couple, stayed in the double ensuite, good bed, brandnew refurbished bathroom with powerful hot shower, good aircon. The staff is very friendly and helpful, free wifi and broadband pc use for free, free coffee,tea,drinking water and toast,butter and jam from 8-12a.m.
The location is very good in the middle of old penang with a lot of simple restos and foodstalls and also little India in walking distance.
As we came by car we really appreciated the inexpensive car park next to the place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed in the double ensuites and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. No television in the room but one does not come to Penang to watch tv. The room rates were very reasonable and the same comes with complimentary internet access and breakfast. The location of the hotel is a plus point as all major attractions are within walking distance plus one gets wonder around Georgetown at their own pace. The hotel staff were hospitable and readily answered all queries and request. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel and would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a peaceful good night rest without the usual pomp and pageantry of a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emelyn_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 87 in George Town
845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 119 in George Town
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#6 of 119 in George Town
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#4 of 119 in George Town
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Penang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Penang Guesthouse

Address: 53 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 119 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $15 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Penang Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Penang Guesthouse is a beautifully restored pre-war building in the historic city of Penang, Malaysia and still retains much of its old world charm. It is believed to have been constructed more than 80 years ago. It is especially important as an example of a very early shop house prototype. From the original mosaic-tiled flooring, intricate artwork, inner courtyard and to wooden shuttered windows, every aspect echoes the history of the region, and offers a beguiling journey through this enchanting heritage. It is a best accommodation for travelers who seeking for budget heritage stay. The design integrates old with new, modern with historic, ensuring that the total experience is one that is authentic, honouring the past while bringing every modern convenience to bear. Let's explore the heritage and find your old time memory here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Penang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Penang Guesthouse Hotel Georgetown
Old Penang Guesthouse George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing