We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Penang
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Eppstein, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Royal for two nights with my husband and son in April 2014. Check-in was quite slow, even though there was no one else checking in. We asked about the extra bed we had booked for our son and were told it would be brought up to our room with our luggage. It wasn't. The porter said he would have it send up within ten minutes. He didn't. We had to call reception again and then wait for the bed another twenty minutes or so. The room was rather small and looked a bit dated, but otherwise it was comfortable enough for our short stay. Breakfast was quite good. My husband and son went for a swim in the pool one evening. They had fun, though the pool is quite small and the sun terrace not at all inviting, as it is all concrete and the "view" is limited to an ugly maintenance building. Some have stated on trip advisor that the hotel is within easy walking distance of Georgetown's historical centre, but that is only true if nothing but pure distance is taken into account. We walked to the centre one afternoon and sure the walk wasn't that far, but it was so unpleasant! We walked almost exclusively along broad streets with heavy traffic and with often no sidewalk and hardly any possibility to cross without putting ourselves in danger of being hit by a car. We took a taxi back to the hotel as we really didn't feel like experiencing that kind of walk again. As there aren't many eating options nearby and we didn't feel like going back to the centre again in the evening, we had dinner at the hotel. The food was good, though a bit pricy, but the drinks were really overpriced. Those were the most expensive drinks we had anywhere during our two-week-stay in Malaysia! All in all, the hotel wasn't that bad, but it wasn’t great either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    162
    182
    71
    46
See reviews for
122
154
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Despite a good location near the heart of Georgetown, the hotel quality will upset you in and out. I feel sad to write this and read other frustration, but it is required a major improvement. And let people enjoy their stay and they enjoy the history, culture and food of this Asia's best island.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Neung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Supposedly a 4-star hotel, nothing 4-star about it at all. And nothing Royal about. Really lousy staff. Says online that they have wifi but you can only access in the main lobby - which stinks of smoke and alcohol because there's a KTV right there at the lobby.

The rooms also smell of cigarettes. Carpet, beddings, bathroom, curtains are dirty. The pool was very lousy and dirty as well.

Only good thing about this place is their buffet breakfast.

No reason to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDLimjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Hotel air - con was off in middle of night we cant sleep well , this is worst hotel i stay and a lot of thing not right in this hotel , wen we check in first day the room door was open and no body in side no security at all , tv channel not working properly ,staff offer change room wen to other room the connecting room door was open and the hks staff came in not even wish us just came in and lock the door without saying anything ,this what they call service ?? Is like we disturb them .......i think the hotel management need to look in to the service is really bad on the hotel reputation thank u :sevadas

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sevadas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Situated in Georgetown, we found it easy to navigate around the City. The City transport service has a free hop on - hop off offered and the hotel offers a free shuttle down to Guerny Plaza and the beach too. The rooms are older and the bathroom showed this but all was clean and serviceable and heaps of storage space was offered in the bedroom, including a safe. The staff were so friendly and helpful and there is a taxi service right at the front door. The hotel is attached to Penang Plaza with a supermarket and chemist plus other essential shops. The next street past the plaza has several eating houses to explore and the hotel also offers a restaurant - although their drinks were very expensive.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing Jalan Larut, you can see the cruise ships come in as you face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nera0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Past its prime but very good for the price. This hotel was previously part of the Sheraton Group. Good size rooms with excellent beds and sheets, a fine breakfast room with a good choice of foods make this an attractive hotel for the price. My only complaint is that the coffee and tea are not hot enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noosa_4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Cook and kitchen helper very rude. Carpet in room dirty. I have 3 days conference here, on the last day, aircond in the conference room doesn't work. It's very hot and terrible. Staff also not nice, we have to line up almost 5meters just waiting to be sit during breakfast. Very annoying.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mh370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
#41 of 84 in George Town
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
1.5 mi away
Berjaya Penang Hotel
Berjaya Penang Hotel
#44 of 84 in George Town
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 84 in George Town
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Property: Hotel Royal Penang
Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Penang is a 4-star hotel, strategically located in the historical enclave of Georgetown and within minutes away from the financial district and other prominent locations. The Hotel is also encased with a diversity of contemporary and culture attractions allowing guests to explore Penang’s rich historic sights which make Penang a UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing