We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs big time renovation!!”
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Penang
Ranked #53 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed October 1, 2013

went there in 2008 for our honeymoon. the hotel was boring with no beautiful scenery. the toilets were not comfortable and so did the room. the only thing good about the hotel was about the breakfast.. the food was simply delicious!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadzrahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 525 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is definitely not a 4-star hotel that was advertised. I could not give more than a 2-star rating. Old run down room, dirty with stained carpet. Look at the sofa chair in my room (see attached photo). Air con not functioning as an air conditioner. Very poor housekeeping and maintenance. Breakfast was unacceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is the worst I've stayed in in George Town. Front desk staff were rude, combative and unhelpful. They also took a substantial security deposit from my card without advising me first. The hotel itself was poorly fitted out, with damp rooms, dank smells and fittings and fixtures not working. I would never stay there again - we could have coped with the down-at-heel feel of it, but the staff attitudes were woeful on the whole. The only good aspect of it was the lovely, friendly porters and taxi drivers outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It says it is a 4-star place but it has seen better days. There was mould in the bathroom grouting, and mould on parts of the wall. The shower curtain has mould along the bottom edges. The air con outlet grill is loose and looks like it is going to fall. The towel hook behind the bathroom door is gone, only the glue mark is left. The car park is dingy and smells and anyone can access the lift to the rooms from the basement car park. The place badly needs refurbishment to be called a four-star hotel. No flat screen TV in this day and age, just a 24-inch CRT TV. Will I stay here again? No.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tengo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff and room very good. We had an executive room (cheapest at time on agoda) which was very spacious and had a big bathroom. Breakfast wasnt bad the usual buffet breaky u find in malaysia. Would stay her again and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonemutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is most definitely my worst experience staying in a hotel.
I don't mind if I'll have to wait for the room to be ready & ended up with a smoking room but when we told the staff that we wanted a non-smoking room, things took a turn for the worst.
The staff responded by saying that "so, do you want to cancel the room? I've two gentlemen here looking for a room."
I am speechless because all I did is politely requested for a non-smoking room.
The staff also puts up another remark by saying that we've only booked for a standard room & we're being so demanding (the sentence he used actually sounded much worse).
I really held myself up back there & waited for a non-smoking room.
Finally, I realized that there is no such thing as cheap hotel, just staff with lousy attitude.
My piece of advice, staff training highly required.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YukieLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed in royal hotel penang 3d2n..... fast check in and check out ,there's a KFC restaurant opposite the hotel , hotel link to the Plaza Penang with hypermarket which is very convinience. Hotel provided shuttle to Gurney Plaza and free wifi as well ...definately will return to this hotel when our next visit in Penang.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnsgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.5 mi away
Berjaya Penang Hotel
Berjaya Penang Hotel
#43 of 85 in George Town
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 85 in George Town
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#31 of 85 in George Town
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
0.4 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 85 in George Town
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $37 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Penang is a 4-star hotel, strategically located in the historical enclave of Georgetown and within minutes away from the financial district and other prominent locations. The hotel is also encased with a diversity of contemporary and culture attractions allowing guests to explore Penang’s rich historic sights which make Penang a UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing