We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage Trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Penang
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heritage Trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

One would think that he management would have taken steps to rectify some of the poor comments written. Unfortunately, little has been done or less!
Staff attitude was far below expectations, not an aota of "Welcoming", forget about greeting, non what so ever, one consulation at breakfast room a hard working "hostess" made good to start one's day. We were assigned a room near the lift, don't forget to ask the question as the lifts is occupied, then the "thundering" is heard in your room!!! Not a good experience overall.

George Town as UNESCO Heritage Site well worth visiting but on foot only, just let your senses guide you and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Only if you are desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BakersOvenCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    160
    181
    70
    45
See reviews for
119
153
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

very bad experience.The front desk staff is rude and the hotel room is so run down and dirty.Even found cockroach in the room during my stay!No towels in the room and after calling many times they failed to send the towels to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel looks great from the outside however, inside the rooms is a different situation. We arrived last Sunday night and after arriving in our room we found how many things didn't work. The fridge, TV and phone, The fridge was replaced with a working one and another remote was given which made the TV to work, however, after turning it on it took 10 to 15 mins before any sound was heard. The TV was at least 15 years old (not LCD). The odor of the room was not pleasant it looked like the carpet had not been shampooed for many years. This hotel is badly need of renovations. No WiFi in rooms.
We had just come from Vietnam where we stayed in 3 star hotels with LCD TV's etc. The Royal is about 1 star hotel.

Room Tip: Just choose this hotel until it has been renovated, which maybe never.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed there overnight on business. First thing comes to view is the horrible carpark with limited spacings and some in odd positions. Worst, there's no lift from carpark to the lobby so we had to carry our luggages up the staircase. Staff were not too friendly, no greeting etc just plain poker face. Room was okay, but aircon was not cold at all. Called helpdesk and they attended to it quite swiftly but nothing has improved so we decided to bear with it - for one night only. Only limited channels on TV and bathroom makes loud noise when hot water tap is on... will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Memphia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

On our arrival (2pm), staff told us that there are no rooms. Only one room available on the smoking floor, hence "upgrading" one of our rooms (we booked 2) to the Smoking floor. After 2 hours we went back to the reception and got both rooms on the non-smoking floor. During changing of rooms, my dad left his watch in the old room and only realizing it at night. We checked with the staff and looked in the room(after room service cleaning), and no watch was found.

Back to the rooms, they are old and dated but comfortable. And the "upgrade" earlier was definitely not an upgrade. (We booked 2 superior rooms, but the staff kept insisting duluxe is better. Oh well.) We stayed for one night, so it was ok. Towels were dirty. Had to call room service to provide the coffee and sugar etc.

Good side, the shuttle van to Gurney Drive was good and convenient. The guy was very friendly too. Their breakfast selection is okay. I felt the variety was too little for a 4 star hotel.

Lastly, my mum's credit card was barred due to an unknown online transaction (3K MYR) as they did not get a call confirmation from her. It was done on the same day when we checked in. She only used her credit card to pay for the hotel deposit throughout the whole trip. A coincidence or not, I can't be sure.

Definitely wont be returning to this hotel. Mum did a mistake, not researching before booking. Wont happen again.

Room Tip: Just get another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjunk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were honeymooners or just married couple when we stayed here. We satisfied with the breakfast service but poor at their parking lot. Have a nice view if you take higher room. The room is ok and comfortable. But make sure you use your gps if not you will find you lost in the penang citty to reach the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shuhaida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've just spent our first night here and besides the central location in Georgetown, everything else is fairly pathetic. The hotel is old and in desperate need of refurbishment. TV is old and signal intermittent. Amenities are sparse. Pool is small. The biggest failure on the part of the management however would be that their staff are really poorly trained. They are generally standoffish and for the most part, arrogant and devoid of any capability to utter the simplest pleasantries to their guests. In retrospect, we regret making the booking as we're sure that we could have gotten a better deal at a better property. If I were the Chief Minister, I would never have endorsed the hotel as it would show a lack of analytical ability and foresight on my part.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aikichin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
#46 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Property: Hotel Royal Penang
Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Penang is a 4-star hotel, strategically located in the historical enclave of Georgetown and within minutes away from the financial district and other prominent locations. The Hotel is also encased with a diversity of contemporary and culture attractions allowing guests to explore Penang’s rich historic sights which make Penang a UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing