We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much. There are other better hotels with the same price.”
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Penang
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The staffs at the front counter are not really friendly. The hotel is quite old and the toilet is in poor condition. There are cracks and stains on the bathtub. The tv (tv box) in the room is not functioning. The iron is too old and not functioning as well. The food for breakfast and buffet lunch/dinner is not really good. There are other better hotels in Georgetown city u can get with the same amount of money. There are lack of maintenance in this hotel. Hope it can improve in times to come. Location is satisfactory, but it is not my main factor to consider this hotel again as there are other better place with good location to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 528 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room not made up when you enter. Toilet in poor condition. Carpet and bed sheet stinks and dusty. Front desk neither friendly nor rude (which is not acceptable in hotel industry). Airconditioning is poorly functioning. Don't expect much of this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank mfeizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hello friends, this hotel is close to bus stops, local shopping market & a taxi stand. Breakfast provided by hotel is awesome with loads of variety. Rooms are quite good not that spacious but the good for couple+01 child. Very clean, co-operative staff and the location is good.

Room Tip: View of the property is not good till the 10th floor, you will have an option to choose smoking/non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divyesh_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Royal Penang for four nights from Thursday 25/10/12 until Monday 29/10/12. The hotel is basic and relatively clean.(although this could be improved) Breakfast was not included with our room but we did try the breakfast buffet and found that this was just a basic buffet at a reasonable price.

The reception staff found it difficult to converse in English and had trouble telling us anything about the hotel - - to try and arrange the breakfast buffet was difficult. We also had issue in trying to arrange some visits to attractions in and around the area. We also found that the drivers were giving different versions of best methods of accessing attractions

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pinkducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Royal for 1 night in Deluxe Suite which come with an extra tiny room for a table with fax.

Let's say about the good side of the hotel, internet is free but don't put high hope on the high speed connection even is slow but still enable you to connect to the cyberworld. A huge no of non smoking floor a plus point for person like me which not a smoker and doesn't like the smelly smell. And the room ammenities is good to have like disposal tooth brush, shower gel, conditioner, body lotion, sewing kits, etc.

And now we go to the other side of the hotel (BADDDD)

1. I think is the oldest and the smallest TV that I experienced for all the hotel or resort i ever stayed and the channel is also frequent interrupted.

2. Old and dirty carpet and this had caused the whole room into strange smell.

3. Soggy mattress if you having problem with your back bone, I advise you to look for another hotel and the condition of the bed is dusty.

4. Poor front desk service, no greeting nor even ask you whether you need help to arrange on your luggage.

5. Shower bath curtain with a undried smelly which make me feel extremely comfortable with and for me a bath or shower should reduce or refresh my mind or body but unfortunately with this condition i couldn't stay inside for more than 5 mins.

6. Poor breakfast and limited variety of choice and the quality of food is bad.

I won't come back to stay again if the other option is open.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SleepySteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Royal for a couple of nights in a superior room. They kindly put an extra bed in for our little toddler, free of charge which was nice. It's worth a mention they did offer a cot and a highchair was available for use at breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable but perhaps a bit tired/frayed around the edges.

The staff were very friendly, child friendly and it's a great hotel for being in the hub of George Town. The Concierge was a full of useful information and couldn't do enough to help and make recommendations. They sourced the taxi for you and ensured you have absolutely no trouble with pricing etc However, I have to say we found using taxi cars across the board, a cost effective and enjoyable way to get around the island and had no bad experiences. We were told some try to rip you off but I guess that's true of anywhere you go!

At the Royal Penang, everything is at your fingertips, the sights, colonial streets, restaurants, shopping malls and great views from your hotel window.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on 1st Aug till 3rd Aug 2012 in Hotel Royal Penang. We booked twin room but stayed 4 people. The admin allowed us to do so and provided 2 extra pillow inside the wardrobe. The room was clean so do the bathroom, we received good services as we request receptionist to morning on time. Although breakfast wasn't provided, KFC is just opposite the hotel only few minutes walk to reach. Taxi services available outside the hotel however all goes to bargaining prices, If you would to enjoy Penang people living style I sincere urge you to try Rapid Penang bus, the prices is cheap and the bus station is around the corner. I would recommend this hotel for middle low prices traveller as the services is good and affordable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddysuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 87 in George Town
1,097 reviews
1.5 mi away
Berjaya Penang Hotel
Berjaya Penang Hotel
#46 of 87 in George Town
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#35 of 87 in George Town
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
0.4 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 87 in George Town
963 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $33 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Penang is a 4-star hotel, strategically located in the historical enclave of Georgetown and within minutes away from the financial district and other prominent locations. The hotel is also encased with a diversity of contemporary and culture attractions allowing guests to explore Penang’s rich historic sights which make Penang a UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing