We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PPisland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
PPisland Hotel
Save
You added PPisland Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in George Town
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not a bad hotel at all for the value. We chose a budget hotel for our stay in Penang and it served its purposes. Our room was quite small so we upgraded to the next class so the 3 of us could be more comfortable. The room had pretty strong AC as well. Located in a good area convenient to most touristy places, this hotel served as a great base during our stay. On our more ambitious days, we walked to the downtown areas. There were multiple food stalls nearby that are walking distance as well (soooo delicioius). The staff did their best to help us when we needed directions, a cab, etc. For a budget hotel, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite cramped so keep this in mind when you're booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
36
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

It's less than 10 minutes walk to Georgetown. Great dim sum places just across and beside the hotel.
Room is big and clean. However, bring ur own toothbrush and hair & body shampoo. The neighborhood is quiet and safe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeekangwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean and spacious room! It comes with a free first come first serve parking, good for those who drove to penang. Very good value for the amount we paid! :) love the location as well, so convenient and near to many good hawker stalls and restaurants! Will recommend my friends this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElsonKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked the double rooms for rm85 / night. Location not bad, consider that there're many hawker stalls nearby. Parking is first comes first serve. Small lobby, no restaurant, only a vending machine

Rooms 706: nice view, small size, dirty bedsheets with two hole! , bathroom doorknob rusty to the state of unacceptable!, mouldy ceilings, shower head went wrong but was fixed immediately. No hair dryer in rooms(have to call). No tea making facilities. Paper thin walls.Wifi is snail speed.

It was very cheap stay but the quality is way too bad..will not come back again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is my Third time staying in this hotel and am still very glad with the value I am getting. I stayed in a RM 95 rooom this time as I wanted a more comfortable room, the room is HUGE for the money we are paying , with clean bedsheet and room.I saw the recent comment on wifi and felt it isn't fair to give negative review on slow wifi as its actually Free of Charge , plus certain area of the hotel actually has fast connection, so its actually a mattter of going to the right area, the service is definitely not 5 star but for RM 95 per night, what would you expect? I did some online search and this is so far the best value hotel I have stayed in Georgetown as some other hotels actually charge for wifi , airconditioning, etc and to think that by paying so low for a quality stay makes me want to come back again! I only wanted a clean and quality place to stay for the night before I walk around the town, so the question of staff providing fantastic services is not a big concern to me.Highly recommeded!

Room Tip: This is a no frill hotel, need to bbring your own toothbrush and toothpaste. Clean towels will be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mcken888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is an ok review but my negative review is based on there being no Wifi in most of the rooms despite the hotel advertising that there is:

The Good:
Rooms are basic but clean(apart from mildew in shower) with good shower pressure
Smooth check in/ Check out

The Bad:
Staff are extremely rude. If you approach them with an issue they disregard your query and when you ask them again they stare at you until you leave the desk.
Wifi does not work in rooms apart from two twin rooms (rooms ending 4 & 5). Otherwise you dont have wifi in room. This was particularly annoying for me as I chose this hotel due to internet. Reception internet is not great either. On plus side there are plenty of internet cafes in area which I used.
Location is outside the Oldtown about a 40 min walk. I didnt mind this but Penang is not a pedestrian friendly city and there are alternative options for the same price in the centre of old town.

All this being said if you dont mind walking and you dont require internet this is an ok hotel, if they hadnt advertised internet and been so rude when I queried I would have given 3/4 stars.

Room Tip: If you require internet and can use a twin room pre book a room ending in 4 or 5 as the routers are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Neilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here again last January, and it isn't my first time staying there. I always recommend this place to my friends whenever they ask for affordable yet comfortable accommodation. PPIsland has only two kind of rooms, Deluxe for Twin Bed and Superior for Double Bed. The price we paid was fair. No breakfast included though, but don't worry, it's very easy to find food around the hotel. We were happy enough with the comfortable bed and simple facility. We'll certainly be back again whenever we visit Penang again.

Room Tip: Deluxe with Twin Bed is nicer and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodVenturer_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#51 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#32 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Rock Hotel
Red Rock Hotel
#66 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garden Inn
Garden Inn
#58 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#24 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#42 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PPisland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PPisland Hotel

Property: PPisland Hotel
Address: 33A Lorong Abu Siti, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel newly opened in 2009, PPisland offers business and leisure travelers a homely ambiance. Located in the heart of Georgetown, it is less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, easily accessible to commercial and banking areas, shopping outlets, popular tourist and heritage sites. Relax yourself in one of our 62 clean and comfortable rooms completed with facilities like LCD TV, ensuite shower, individually controlled air-conditioning and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
PPisland Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing