We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadway Budget Hotel
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in George Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

we have stayed for five nights in triple room and the air-cond is cold cos' it's new. It's locate almost centre of the heritage core so most of the attractions are in walking distance.There is no kettle in the room so will be inconvenience to get hot water.The staffs are friendly and helpful.Over all it's worth to stay if you are not too particular traveler.

Room Tip: Room 11 at First Floor might too tight for triple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
48
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and i, both mid-sixties, booked in online, and stayed for 4 days. Newly renovated, the rooms are CLEAN with clean attached toilets, hot water etc. 2 minutes away from Little India, Chulia street, and the bus stops for most routes. Ample choice of food stalls minutes away, for all meals. The 303 bus from outside Nibong Bus Terminal drops you 200 mtrs from this hotel.
We recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madr4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are in penang and intended to discover the BEST of Penang, it is the place to stay. Most of the heritage sites are 10 - 12 minute walking distance.

You can go to any part of george town from here easily and take the FREE bus for CITY tour

The main bus terminal is only 10 minutes walk, and chulia and muntri street ( Backpackers Zone ) is only 5 minutes on foot.

As it name suggests, it is mainly for the budget travelers. I brought my parents and were in a family room and paid super pick price RM 150 ( normal price is RM 130 for 4 person)

The room is good with new air conditioner and new furniture. They renovated the hotel few months ago and the rooms are still in good condition

As a old building itself, all the rooms have attach bathroom and they provide towel and basic toiletries

The management is really good and helpful. They even assisted me with finding the cheap transport to Cameron Highland

We all are really happy with the room + hotel + customer service

Highly recommended for Budget travellors

Room Tip: Try to take Room 14 or 15 in the First floor .... spacious and face little india.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAJUL_GHANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed there for one night and were really happy about it. Clean and big room, hot shower, aircon, tv (if you want), wifi... Friendly and helpul staff. Good location.
If you can afford some more ringgit for accomodation, go there and not to the Love Lane..we wished we had gone there the first night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookslikeasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

After reaching Gtown we planned to stay in a different place. But the attitude and overall impression made us look for a different space. AND GOOD 'cause we found this wonderful, welcoming and all you need to have a good sleep place. Look no further, book Broadway budget Hotel in Gtown. THEY ARE JUST GR8 ;) Double with bathroom, tv, free WiFi was only 80 MYR!!!! If ever in Gtown again we will stay at the same place :)

Room Tip: Room 34, double with bathroom & tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 1 night (70MR, no tv) so we could get a feel for the area and decide if we like the hotel. Location wise we found it perfect. Between KOMTAR and the ferry pier it meant we were a 5 minute walk to both of the main bus stations in Georgetown so had easy bus access to all the attractions on the island and being in little India we had great food options within a 2 min walk. Add in the fact that the hotel has been renovated within the last month we really enjoyed this place and ended up adding another 6 nights to our stay here. The staff were all friendly and the island in general is full of good things to do. One tip (for Malaysia in general!) bring ear plugs to quieten the noise of the 6am call to mosque!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenseenanddonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My Girl friend and i stayed here for 3 nights..as my last stop in Malaysia before flying back home.The staffs were very friendly and help full. We paid 70 ringgit for a room with a double bed, air con and attach bathroom...the staffs told the room with TV will only cost us addtional 10 ringgit.. this is very cheap and value for money especially to get it in the center of Georgetown! we took the little india view and was realy nice! I was told by the staffs the hotel was just newly opened after their renovation last month..
I would say this is A well kept Hotel..!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#52 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#54 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#41 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Budget Hotel

Property: Broadway Budget Hotel
Address: 35f Jalan Masjid, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Broadway Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Budget Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing