We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Broadway Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadway Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadway Budget Hotel
Ranked #36 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Broadway Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here for 2nights on 12&13 april 2012 with my friend. Booked for double room for rm60 per nite and 70 for friday nite. Choose twin beds, with a/c and fan bathroom attached. The room is quite small but it is ok and clean. Located in near the Kapitan Mosque and also near to the Nasi Kandar Beratur. It is a bit noisy at nite with the hotel located near the road but I was so tired I didnt really care and have a sound sleep :)

I was in Georgetown for 4 days so the other night I choose different hotel near the Penang Street just near the Esplanade called Friendship Motel. Overall Broadway Budget Hotel is still ok except for maybe the sound from the road and the room size and the people in the front counter is very nice.

Room Tip: Doesnt have lift and the stairs is very narrow. Try to get room in first floor and the closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
48
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

booked at march 9th till 10th, was looking fwd to it till the drilling of the main road right infront of the hotel...the over-rated very friendly n helpfull front desk guys obviously is also very good in their words !!! when asked how come we were not inform when we book the room, their excuse was there are not aware the drilling take all night till morning, they assusre that 10th march will not have night drilling but we were obviously conned ...the drilling went on....a decent hotel must have the courtesy to inform guest but not just sell room for d sake of PROFIT ...what is the point of being friendly n courteous when u cannot even sleep in peace at night during yr holiday ?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ubud c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Located on the upper fringe of little India, this hotel is as basic as one can get. There is no Tel, TV or fridge, but the WIFI is better than expected. If you do not mind the walk up.

The place is cleaned and linen refresh is every 2 days. It is handy to the401E airport and CAT free bus. Many restos around if you like Indian or Chinese food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodgenie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed here in January 2011 and was really happy with this accommodation.Very friendly staff on front desk and very helpful.Loved being in "Little India" for the food and ambiance. Just out the front door there is an Indian vendor for "Chai and snacks" and cheap.
Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huib V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Bed bugs. ... bed bugs!

Towel was the funniest excuse for a towel I have ever seen. I don't know why they even give it to you. Imagine cardboard paper with holes in it.

My clock was still on Thai time so I accidentally checked out 30 minutes late and they charged me 20 ringgit on a 40 ringgit stay. Not very nice of them.

Cheap and decent location is about the only bright spots.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here when we first arrived to Penang as after looking at the dingy hostels, and this was the most reasonable local hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were ok , and clean and there was warm water and free Wifi, we stayed here on 2 occasions and both times had a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel has a great location and from the outside it looks OK. WiFi is free though you need your own computer. The staff are friendly. The room was quite large but had a dreadful smell. The bed sheet, pillow case and top cover all had holes. The bathroom was dirty and the bath towel the size of a handkerchief.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailor2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#54 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#46 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#51 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#34 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Budget Hotel

Property: Broadway Budget Hotel
Address: 35f Jalan Masjid, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Broadway Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Budget Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing