We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broadway Budget Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$141
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$145
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$128
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$44
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
32
57
24
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
57
24
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiakapitan kelingtriple roomrooms are cleanair conditionerprivate bathroomcomfy bedeasy accesstvgeorgetownwifipenangtoiletbackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 129 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Bed bugs. ... bed bugs!

Towel was the funniest excuse for a towel I have ever seen. I don't know why they even give it to you. Imagine cardboard paper with holes in it.

My clock was still on Thai time so I accidentally checked out 30 minutes late and they charged me 20 ringgit on a 40 ringgit stay. Not very nice of them.

Cheap and decent location is about the only bright spots.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here when we first arrived to Penang as after looking at the dingy hostels, and this was the most reasonable local hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were ok , and clean and there was warm water and free Wifi, we stayed here on 2 occasions and both times had a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel has a great location and from the outside it looks OK. WiFi is free though you need your own computer. The staff are friendly. The room was quite large but had a dreadful smell. The bed sheet, pillow case and top cover all had holes. The bathroom was dirty and the bath towel the size of a handkerchief.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailor2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The reason why I chose this hotel was the rate. And the location itself is quite interesting, as it is very near to visit all the historical sites. However, the wall is quite thin, as you can hear people walking/talking in the hallway. Also, at night the area seems to be so silent that it creeps you out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I am giving this 3 stars, but a TV and small fridge would bump it to a 4 star easy, a bigger bathroom and it could be even more. I would gladly spend another RM10 or 15 for those things.

Location is right on the border of Little India and Chinatown, super good spot. I asked for a room in the back, as I know that call-to-prayer goes off at odd hours sometimes, and the road can get a bit noisy, so if you stay here, get a room off the street. I had room 25, good AirCon, hot water, and decent bedding. Wifi, free and in-room, seemed pretty reliable.

The chaps at the front desk are super friendly, always polite and answered any questions I had.

It would take so little to move this hotel above the competition (I know, I walked around for 2 hours in the afternoon heat looking at atleast a dozen places), it's sad to see these guys not put those little extras in to go over the rest of the budget options in town. All in all, not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, away from the street. They will oblige
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews