We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Dollar for Dollar accomodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Selangor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth Dollar for Dollar accomodation!”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

For starters, it is a budget hotel. However for the amount that you are paying, you actually get a pretty posh looking room (albeit small) and its extremely clean too. So are the bathrooms! The condition of the hotel rooms surpasses my initial expectations by a mile!

Apart from that, the location of the hotel is situated right in the middle of city centre, which makes explorations easy. There is a starbucks and a foodcourt right next to it, and also food stalls all around it, so there would not be an issue pertaining to food.

The only negativity of the place is the parking. For those who is driving, parking will cost you RM5 per Entry.

All in all, I am pretty satisfied with the hotel suring my duration of stay there and would highly recommend this to backpackers and those travelling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyElizaVaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Hi There,

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our, services and facilities and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment,always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    563
    316
    96
    73
See reviews for
239
365
215
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Clean and easy access hotel, next to starbucks coffee and New world food court. You can't really complaint for what you paying for; a bargain.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alvin0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

No doubt ... Tune hotel is recommendable for clean budget hotel in Penang. However as written the hotel provides daily cleaning room. I spent time in Penang for leisure and relax so I went out for breakfast and sight seeing up to 2 PM. When I entered room suprisingly my room wasn't clean yet. I called to front desk they said cleaning time is around 3 PM ... so dont expect if you go out in the morning to afternoon when you return to your room ... still messy. I wish that Tune Management could consider this cleaning time ... so hotel will be near perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekalagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Hi,

Thank you for your TA review.

Our housekeeping starts at about 10 am for checked-out rooms and then followed by the occupied ones late noon.

Our housekeeping schedule is almost similar accross all of our hotels, and regardless of the time, it is carried out on a daily basis ( except UK , it is once every 3 days).

You could refer to our tunehotels website; fees and hotel schedule for further details.

We hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My first stay at a Tune hotel was here in Penang. I had undertaken a lot of reading on the brand and what to expect. I was looking forward to this visit as I had already booked for a longer stay in March next year.

We arrived around 11am from KL and were told we could not check in until 2pm. Most hotels state they have a check in time around 2PM and Tune is no different. The difference is that Tune hotels are very strict with this, and I got the impression we would have to wait until 2 even if every room in the place was empty. Never mind, we stored our luggage (for a fee) and ventured off to see what was close by. We found a food court next door at the New World centre. After a bite to eat we went off again and found the Komtar centre 5 mins down the road. Komtar is a bit of a hub in this part of the Georgetwon with shopping and bus terminal.

After 2 we ventured back to the hotel to complete a straight forward check in. The rooms were as expected: small but not too small, very clean and tidy. The bed was a good size and had high quality linen. The ceiling fan did a good job until the air conditioning kicked in.

Overall We were all quite happy with our few nights at Tune Penang. The food court next door is fantastic for cheap local food and makes up for the lack of a cafe at the hotel. the 7 11 at the hotel is very handy for cool drinks and snacks.

A few days later we had a night at tune hotel LCCT terminal, and in comparison the Penang Hotel is far ahead, the rooms are slightly bigger, it is quieter and the staff generally more friendly. Looking forward to staying here again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Hotel is relatively new , nice, clean room & bathroom. Very comfy bed (clean, new sheets) Good air con (to be purchased hourly). free wi-fi & interent access in lobby.

On a main road just on the outer part of georgetown, great location for exploring the rest of the island. Buses from outside hotel go to Penang hill & Teluk Bahang in the north.

Definitely recommend to anyone travelling on a budget. So cheap, and everything you need!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Hi JenL23,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

There is also the is also Free Shuttle Bus Service route (route T10) within close walking distance which en-routes the Penang Heritage Trails, and the majority of Penang’s tourist attractions are located within close proximity of Georgetown.

Penang is a destination well known for its gastronomic delights and diverse culture, which means you could save on your stay with us and feast on the your shopping and dinning escapades.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here for two nights, the location is perfect as there is a monorail and train station near by, we were able to walk into town quite easily too. The staff are very friendly and the rooms extremely clean, there is a slight hum of the traffic outside although unless you are a particularly light sleeper it will not bother you. My one piece of advice is to not get taxis back to the hotel unless you pre pay as the traffic is awful. Tune has luggage storage facilities a smal shop a coffee shop and subway, I would definitely stay again, I think some of the reviewers forget that this is budget accommodation!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The title is not intended to be negative, rather, it literally is a hotel which you pay for what you need only. So if you just want a room to stay for the night without the towel + toiletries and air cond (but recommended though even if there is a ceiling fan), then this is the place. The location is fantastic for those who like to sample Penang food because many of the recommended eateries that you read about in the Star newspaper or the internet are nearby, within walking distance of 2 to 10 mins. The nearest one is New World Park food court which is just next to the hotel. The room is small as expected but has enough space to put 3 large travel bags on the floor (no cupboard provided) and move around. Entry is via an electronic card by tapping it on the card detector attached to the room door. The same card is also used to turn on the electricity. The usage of the air cond is tracked by an LCD timer with the remaining hours and minutes shown. The timer counts down only when the air cond is used. There is no lock for the bathroom door and only shower is provided. Do request for a room with window if you want some fresh air as there are rooms without a window. Be careful when opening the window as there is no safety latch for those bringing children along to stay. The twin beds are very comfortable and just as large as the ones in higher rate hotels. Noise from outside the room can be heard, maybe because the walls are thin and probably like Air Asia passenger seats, they fit more rooms (hence more people) to maximise occupancy. The car park behind the hotel is limited, officially, it can accomodate 16 cars but it probably can squeeze 6 more. The rate is $5 per entry. If you cannot find a parking lot, you can still park in New World Park but the charge rate is higher (see the hotel website for the latest rate). The lobby is on the 2nd floor which is accessed via the lifts. There is no cafe but you can find food outside the hotel and at the 7-11 convenience store on the ground floor. There is also a car rental service at the ground floor entrance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#55 of 84 in George Town
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#50 of 84 in George Town
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing