We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy bedroom card system”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lousy bedroom card system”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I was having a biz trip to Penang from 24/7-27/7/14. Every night I unable to enter the room directly as the card has marked me as checked out. Their explanation was due to my card taken out after I went out from the room. It will auto reset n the timing will not match the record anymore! I asked to changed room n the staff told me other room might experience the same also. On the last night stay, again as usual need to go yo reception reset my card. The staff attended me never highlight my aircond usage left 3 hours. Therefore I slept till around 2am n woke up due to too stuffy. After I realised what happen, they do not even helped me reset the system by topping up my aircond usage, insists want me went down to reset the card. This is horrible experience n I will never visit them any more !!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Elaine,

We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you have recently encountered during your stay at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang

Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com with details of your stay so that I could get the maintenance team to check this up.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to be given the opportunity to serve you better and restore you experience with us.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    564
    317
    97
    74
See reviews for
240
366
216
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Smooth check-in in the early afternoon, but the room we were allocated has a noisy fan. Asked Level-2 lobby for a switch, and was given a room next door. Still the ceiling fan was noisy, but with a more tolerable rhythm. Other than that, no complaints on this particular Tune inn.

Breakfast place near Jalan Nagor was terrific, same with the nearby, newly renovated CHIME buildings. One can have noodles till 4am in a small shop across the street from Tune. The walk to Komtar is unpleasant, though, due to lack of decent pedestrian pavements.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiberdude8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

i stayed here for one night, booked a double room with windows. I didn't bother to add on air-conditioning or bath kits or wifi. Fyi, Penang has free wifi in the city so you don't have to get your own data plan.
ok, back to Tune hotel. What I like about the room is it has everything you need, all your needs eg. hanger for your clothes, shower, luggage table are all placed strategically. I think they must have put in effort in arranging the room. there's one thing i like to comment, the toilet seat is too near the wall, if you were to sit on the toilet seat, your knees will hit the wall. that's the only complain i have for the room.
the shower area is spacious, i like that it's separated from the sink area so the area isn't wet and you can actually put on your clothes there without getting your clothes wet.
If you rented a car to drive around Penang, you can park your car at the parking lot behind the hotel at RM6 per entry. I would suggest, during the day, you parked else where because the parking ticket for half hour is only 40cents (you can get parking coupon at 7 eleven). For overnight park, tune hotel parking is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wpdhing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the post stay review.

We take note of your comments regarding the toilet seat and I have wired it to the relevant parties for future consideration.

Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we hope to see again in future.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was great stay. The parking was RM6 per entry, but who cares, after all once you parked you can keep your car as long as you want till you check out entirely. This gives an opportunity to explore Georgetown and rest nearby POI within the island.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to have equal privacy level. So doesn't matter. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burn_Cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the 5th time I stayed in Tune Hotel downtown Penang. Good location, easy to get food around, 5 minutes walking distance to Penang Road, around 10 minutes walking distance to KOMTAR (local bus terminal). Stayed in single room without windows. The room was clean and tidy, excellent house-keeping service, but very poor sound proof! Not recommended for those who are looking for quiet sleep environment. Laud noises from room next door and along the corridor. I would have expected this hotel to have better soundproofing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiqiao77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive review.

We regret to find that you had experienced some inconveniences from the noise level at our hotel.

We try our best to address complaint about the noise level based on the circumstances causing it. In some cases we move guests to a quieter end or even seek help from the security personal to have a chat with the adjacent offenders.

Please take note that in future, seek assistance from the front desk and I'm sure they would be able to sort this out for you.

On a separate note, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the remaining parts of your stay

We hope to see you again in future.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hassle-free, affordable stay at Tune Penang. Comfy bed, excellent shower, functional and convenient in terms of location with restaurants nearby. Book early however as it tends to get fulll fairly quickly. And car park is limited, though you have the option of parking opposite the hotel along the road.

Room Tip: Higher floor gives the better view of Penang at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vignes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Every time I travelled to Penang I would stay at Tune...the hotel is situated 360 of places of interest and also good food courts at various famous streets in the surroundings. The nearby restaurant "Hai Onn" serves good chicken chop too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerful7212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that this is your return stay.

Tune Hotels not only provide value for money, but we are also situated close to public amenities, dining and shopping outlets.

Thank you for your continued patronage and we hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Penang.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 84 in George Town
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#46 of 84 in George Town
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#52 of 84 in George Town
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing