We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Sarawak
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Sorry for the very late review. Was here in the year 2012 and beginning of the year 2013 (somewhere in March). The hotel - not bad. Clean and it is easy to get a public transport to access to other places. Very near to a number of "eateries cafe" and a food court - New World + some other cafes are next to it.

Suitable for anyone with a tight budget.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerminatorSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review. Our affordable rates and convenient location makes allows guests to save even more. Almost everything is within short reach. Thanks for your review and I hope you continuously choose us as your preferred choice of abode. Rgfs ( Sharon De Silva- Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    562
    313
    94
    73
See reviews for
239
362
211
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of weeks and found it quite suitable for our needs. No grand entrance to the building on arrival but a small sign said that the reception was on the second floor. There is parking at the rear and you pay per entry. So you can park for two weeks and pay once if you don´t take the car out if you wish. Staff were efficient and eager to help with your requests. The room was of a good size with good washroom. We had a little trouble finding the wardrobe because there was not one in the room! There was a small chrome rail fixed to the wall with three coat hangers on it. No chest of drawers or shelves for clothing. Had to live out of our suitcases for two weeks. We asked for more hangers which did help. The strange thing is that there was plenty of room to install a wardrobe. There was a small writing desk that was fixed to the wall and folded down for use. Strangely again there were no chairs for sitting at the desk! We had ask for two chairs which was not a problem......we could hang clothes on the back of them. Bed was large and comfortable. There was enough room for armchairs in the room. We thought we would try out the American breakfast in the morning.......it was awful and later once we got to know the prices elsewhere, it was expensive. Location was fine with plenty of places to eat nearby. The Komtar was the hub of all connections to explore the island and there were 3 or 4 shopping malls linked to each other. There was free internet available in lobby/lounge area. Ask at reception for access code and you can have blocks of 30 mins at a time. On the same floor there is an electric water fountain that provides hot and cold water which was very handy indeed. Don´t even think about sneaking a crafty puff of a cigarette in your room! In the early hours of the night the smoke alarm went off and woke up the whole block of 10 floors. A lot of angry people around next day.
I think we would come back again to stay. OK for a short stay. TV/ radio would have been nice.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quite with a view of the car park and your car if worried about security. Avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montylado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel without a booking and no knowledge about Tune Hotels other than it's connection with a discount Asian airline. We were quickly greeted by a great smile from Jason (lovely reception executive) who explained everything we needed to know. We decided on the "room options" and went to the room.
The room itself is SMALL. Little space to move around; I stayed alone, but had I stayed with someone else, it would have been very uncomfortable. General cleanliness of the room is good. A few areas for improvement, but nothing to complain about. There was no TV in my room which made for a night of YouTube (wifi is not free, and like everything else, it's a room "option").
This is a great hotel for what you pay. Jason is a great guy and deserves special recognition for making us feel welcome.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JRG R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

expect the basic and I'm satisfied with the experience. Using fan is cool enough if you don't want spend money for air-conditioner add ons. For me, the location is not so near to Komtar as claimed, but u can still walk (took bit time) to the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahelasumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for the review. Our hotel is about 15 minutes walk to komtar. We are centrally located with great accessibility to many shopping, and dinning locations. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rgds- Sharon De Silva ( Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Tune Downtown Penang is within walking distance to the main bus terminal at Komtar, which connects most of the tourist spots and Penang airport. Note the free CAT bus service is also available at Komtar but one needs to have a bit of patience to wait for the bus.

Tune hotel is also near to the foods street at Macalister Road i.e. upon exiting from Tune hotel walk across the road to the next street (towards the UMNO building) there you can find plenty of street foods.

If you checked-in at 2pm and hungry, just beside Tune hotel (turn right looking out from Tune hotel) you can sample a variety of Penang foods like laksa, prawn noodles, etc. at World Park Food Court. (Unfortunately, Tune hotel does not allow us to check in earlier around noon, we have to wait until it's almost 2pm... hungry, as we came direct from the airport...there is a cafe there but not very appealing)

Overall we had a pleasant stay but there are still rooms for improvement to the facilities in terms of cleanliness of the pillow inner cover, maintenance/repair of the broken wooden bed head and slightly blocked basin.

If you bring your own towel, soap, expect 12-hour aircond, bathroom with hot rain shower, Tune hotel is a good choice for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyTkwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Pros:
1. Good location, in the heart of Georgetown
2. Hawker stalls are within walking distance
3. Generally average clean rooms
4. A typical good B&B which denotes Bed and Bath(Large Shower Head).

Cons:
1. Rundown and dirty walls
2. Poor customer service especially the manager who is deluded that he is a 5-star hotel manager treating us as if we can't afford his service
3. Thin walls, anyone talking can be heard next door, so don't moan too loud while you're on your trip here.
4. Limited TUNE Hotel parking (16 spots including side road parking behind the hotel)charged at RM6 per ENTRY which is rather unsafe as no one guard the secluded parking area at night. The larger parking area next door charges at least RM15 overnight with a security guard though.
5. Price not worth it unless you had bought it during promotion.
6. Toiletries include a towel and one small bar of soap and shampoo, teeth hygiene is not part of their concern

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kong1ming2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pros:
- Clean
- Affordable
- Located beside New World food court
- Convenience store in the same building

Cons:
- Really small rooms
- Unhelpful receptionist
- Almost nothing is included (ac/wifi/toiletries/etc..)
- Limited parking space/NO free parking for guest
- Hard to hail a cab from hotel entrance

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIZUMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#32 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#43 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing