We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great location, good value for money”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for a night and we got a double bed room for only 50rm with additional 12hr airconditioning. The room was small but the bed and mattress are big and is very comfy. The bathroom was small just like the other Tune Hotel, they have hair dryer inside the bathroom which is good.

Their reception are is cute with pc plus internet. They also have a small restaurant, billiard table, lotsa tables and chairs and 4 Rest N Go massage chairs (1rm for 3mins massage).

The location of the hotel is so convenient since its near Komtar(central hub, where all buses going around Penang stops), few mins walking distance to Georgetown to see the sites and street arts and its also near some of the best hawkers, New Lane and Lebuh Kimberley.

We'll probably stay here again next time since its cheap and near

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sakura_shady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices. Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We pride ourselves for offering competitive rates and the flexibility to tailor your stay according to budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    563
    315
    95
    73
See reviews for
239
363
215
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for several times. One of the best cheapest hotel in Georgetown. Clean room and toilet. Room rates are very basic without towel, toilettries, air-conditining, so need to add-on for this services. Near the places of interest namely Komtar, Jalan Burmah and 1st Avenue Mall.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mzulkiflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Fan,

Thanks for the review. I’m happy to hear that this is a return stay.

It's rewarding to find our signature bed and power shower coupled with great hospitality has made you come back for more.

Thank you for your continued patronage.

Warm Regards,
De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its clean and reasonably priced although the check-in time is a little late and check-out time is a little earlier than most hotel. The bed are very comfortable just as promoted through the website. Comfy package only gives 1 towel, which I really am not aware of although it is noted in my booking that there are 2 guests. Parking wise is a bit unreasonable as it is calculated via per entry and it cost RM6, I would not mind paying a bit more for a full day multi entry parking but it cost the same whether you park an hour or a full day or more. Location wise is very convenient. Late checkout/checkin is a tad pricey at RM15 considering that a full day cost around only RM60.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yang10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we stay 2 nights, and we pay a promo price for only USD 15 for two nights for two person. Very please with the room. Small but clean with a good and comfort bed and mattress including the AC. The bathroom complete with aminities and hair dryer. Wifi is under repair where we got there, but we can use the PC free in the lobby at 2nd level. In the lobby there's also an iron, its a free use, a restaurants and a massage chair for 1 RM price for 5 minutes. The location closed to KOMTAR bus terminal and only 10-15 minutes walk to the main historical zone at Georgetown. Great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhe_mulyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review.

We have always endeavoured to provide the best within the limited service concept, happy to know you have come to agree with us on that.

We are happy when guests' are.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After the long walk and eating, you feel tired, so just head back to your room at Tune and have a loooong hot shower. Must try it then you know what I mean. Short walk, you can find good food and lots of shops to buy your stuff. If you not the walking type go for the day trip (by van) to zoom around Penang(at the entrance of Tune Hotel).

Room Tip: a room without a TV!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Pearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for writing a review following your recent stay at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
-Right beside Starbucks and a large food court.
-Good bed, mattress and A/C.
-Bathroom was excellent with everything you will need.
-Location decent as it sits on the edge of the historical zone so you need to walk 10 or 15 minutes to reach the sea and tourist attractions.
-Quiet (unlike the Love and Chulia hotels)


Cons:
-Don't bother with the inhouse cafe. Most things out of stock. Vastly 9verpriced. Poor quality.
-Wifi didn't work during our visit apparently due to a technical upgrade.
-If you purchase the comfort package for more than one night, be sure to pick up all the towels when checking in. In our experience, they only wanted to give us 1 towel for a 5-night stay.
-Smoke alarms went off at least 3 times a day (especially early morning). It gives a long pre-recorded speech on not smoking in rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiyadhSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Great locations, functional rooms, clean and affordable makes Tune Hotels a charm for bargain seekers.

I apologize about the alarm system, though we have put up non smoking reminders; this has been a constant challenge where guests ignores them and smoke in the hotel premises; triggering the alarm.

The comfort package comes with one unit of towel; written in the add on option. If you need additional towels, you can purchase them ala-carte.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Budget and clean hotel . Suitable for couple. There are lots of restaurant nearby . Just 1-2 minutes walking distance.
Located at town area . Strategic to 1st Avenue / Gurney.
Just parking lot was limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhLiang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#27 of 84 in George Town
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#50 of 84 in George Town
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#56 of 84 in George Town
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing