We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveler rating
267
589
335
102
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
589
335
102
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelpower showerjalan burmahstrategic locationthe ground floorrooms are smallbus stophot showerconvenience storecomfy bedper nightfood stallswalking distanceshort staylight sleeperkomtarpenang
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for several times. One of the best cheapest hotel in Georgetown. Clean room and toilet. Room rates are very basic without towel, toilettries, air-conditining, so need to add-on for this services. Near the places of interest namely Komtar, Jalan Burmah and 1st Avenue Mall.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank mzulkiflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel George Town Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Fan,

Thanks for the review. I’m happy to hear that this is a return stay.

It's rewarding to find our signature bed and power shower coupled with great hospitality has made you come back for more.

Thank you for your continued patronage.

Warm Regards,
De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its clean and reasonably priced although the check-in time is a little late and check-out time is a little earlier than most hotel. The bed are very comfortable just as promoted through the website. Comfy package only gives 1 towel, which I really am not aware of although it is noted in my booking that there are 2 guests. Parking wise is a bit unreasonable as it is calculated via per entry and it cost RM6, I would not mind paying a bit more for a full day multi entry parking but it cost the same whether you park an hour or a full day or more. Location wise is very convenient. Late checkout/checkin is a tad pricey at RM15 considering that a full day cost around only RM60.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yang10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we stay 2 nights, and we pay a promo price for only USD 15 for two nights for two person. Very please with the room. Small but clean with a good and comfort bed and mattress including the AC. The bathroom complete with aminities and hair dryer. Wifi is under repair where we got there, but we can use the PC free in the lobby at 2nd level. In the lobby there's also an iron, its a free use, a restaurants and a massage chair for 1 RM price for 5 minutes. The location closed to KOMTAR bus terminal and only 10-15 minutes walk to the main historical zone at Georgetown. Great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhe_mulyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel George Town Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review.

We have always endeavoured to provide the best within the limited service concept, happy to know you have come to agree with us on that.

We are happy when guests' are.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After the long walk and eating, you feel tired, so just head back to your room at Tune and have a loooong hot shower. Must try it then you know what I mean. Short walk, you can find good food and lots of shops to buy your stuff. If you not the walking type go for the day trip (by van) to zoom around Penang(at the entrance of Tune Hotel).

Room Tip: a room without a TV!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Pearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel George Town Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for writing a review following your recent stay at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
-Right beside Starbucks and a large food court.
-Good bed, mattress and A/C.
-Bathroom was excellent with everything you will need.
-Location decent as it sits on the edge of the historical zone so you need to walk 10 or 15 minutes to reach the sea and tourist attractions.
-Quiet (unlike the Love and Chulia hotels)

Cons:
-Don't bother with the inhouse cafe. Most things out of stock. Vastly 9verpriced. Poor quality.
-Wifi didn't work during our visit apparently due to a technical upgrade.
-If you purchase the comfort package for more than one night, be sure to pick up all the towels when checking in. In our experience, they only wanted to give us 1 towel for a 5-night stay.
-Smoke alarms went off at least 3 times a day (especially early morning). It gives a long pre-recorded speech on not smoking in rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiyadhSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel George Town Penang, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Great locations, functional rooms, clean and affordable makes Tune Hotels a charm for bargain seekers.

I apologize about the alarm system, though we have put up non smoking reminders; this has been a constant challenge where guests ignores them and smoke in the hotel premises; triggering the alarm.

The comfort package comes with one unit of towel; written in the add on option. If you need additional towels, you can purchase them ala-carte.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews