We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #40 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I like the concept of Tune Hotel ~ You get what you pay for. Basically I just need a clean place to sleep. So Tune Hotel meets my requirement.
I booked a basic room without air-con, just fan. Unfortunately, the fan was not working well in the room and we informed to their staff. Without any doubt, they give us free air-con for 12 hours. Highly recommended ~ Simple room with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OngLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review.

We have always endeavored to provide the best within the limited service concept, happy to know you have come to agree with us on that.

We are happy when guests' are.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

As a Business Traveller, what you only need from your hotel is a comfortable bad, a very satisfying Shower and an interrupted night for a good sleep. I think Tune Hotel has done it so far. We not really go there and enjoy the huge room, a very delighted breakfast. By this items removed, the price lower.

Overall:-
Tune Hotel is recommended if you are solo traveller, business traveller, budget traveller and bag packer traveller.
If you are Couples, Family, Vacation and Rich Traveller, pls dont pick Tune Hotel, go get your self a more suitable and standard hotel...

Room Tip: Keep in mind, everything extra need to pay extra!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelChye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Great locations, functional rooms, clean and affordable makes Tune Hotels a charm. We are happy to hear likewise from you.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're travelling alone it's quite convenient as the hotel is located in the middle of the town. You'll find numerous eateries nearby easily. But warn you, that the room is quite small if you are planning to go with a friend or two that carries a big tummy. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridzwanismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

me and my husband had a 4D3N stay in this Tune Hotel, we actually luv the concept, our room is 305, although it doesn't come with nice window view, but the surrounding is quite ok. The room is really quite small(but not the smallest in our experience), but we dun need a big room since we only need the room for sleeping and resting.
For the nearby travel ho spot, as long as u can take non-halal food, there's a lot a lot a lot nice restaurant and stall nearby.
There's also a starbuck juz next to the Tune Hotel(remember to show ur room card to enjoy 20% off)
If u like free and easy, u juz simply get a map and start ur exploring.( That's what we did la, umbrella is very important)
If u want more comfort, u can juz arrange day tour at the enterance(nice guy working there)

In conclusion, with less then RM70, this hotel is really a GREAT choice.

Room Tip: my 305 dun have good view but it's always cold even only with fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cellowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place has a time for AC one towel for 2 people. Location is good but the service is the worst you can have. The air condition did not work properly after complaining several time a guy came who did not even understand a word I was saying and neither did I understand what he was saying.

The rooms were so small that we felt suffocated.

Now lets come to tidiness. There were hair under my bed. Bed sheets were dirty. Washroom was stained. The floor was dirty. There was no room service to clean the room.

I had a terrible experience in this hotel and I checked out as soon as I got morning sunlight.


  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nowroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know how we have missed your mark on hospitality.

We have always ensured our rooms are clean for guest to stay in. The housekeeping staffs make every effort in managing the daily housekeeping routine and clearly they have missed out this time around.


Thank you for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

See you back at our hotel soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First you have to get used to the way this Tune hotel works. (Never been to any others, might be the same) You get an alotted amount of towels in a bag to bring to your room. Also your AC also gets a certain amount of time to use and you can buy extra. Tune Hotels seems to be all about "buying extra" That was new to me.

Room I had was very clean but small. You get what you pay for and you basically just sleep there. So I give it a 4 out of 5. Staff was good. No troubles there

Good location, and good views from room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello dear guest!

Thanks for this review.

Unlike regular hotels which offer full services, at Tune Hotels we operate on a limited service concept, parallel to a “pay as you use concept”

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed in Tune Hotel many times previously, and in August, we stayed for 2 nights. Overall the hotel is fine for its price. But be prepared for rooms so small that you have to walk sideways around the bed and doors so thin you can hear every word spoken outside.

On the first night, to our horror, we found 2 strands of long hair under a pillow. The other areas like the bathroom were clean though.

Amenity wise, the carpark is tiny and expensive. If you are driving, try to get one of the street lots next to the hotel. There is a 7-Eleven at the ground floor, a Starbucks and Old Town coffee right next door, and a food court that serves inexpensive and good local food. Further around the area there are quite a number of good restaurants and a supermarket.

Overall if you want good value, this hotel is good. Ask for a room far from the lifts and check your room for cleanliness when you enter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 88 in George Town
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#30 of 88 in George Town
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 88 in George Town
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 88 in George Town
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#57 of 88 in George Town
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#33 of 88 in George Town
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $21 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing