We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent enough, but doesn't live up to its promises.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent enough, but doesn't live up to its promises.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced for what it is. It's not awful, but it does cost a fair bit more than some of the guesthouses actually in Georgetown. Plus they charge for every little add on, from towels to aircon, so not great value. Also not the cleanest, a few stains, nothing dramatic, but a fair few ants too, although we were offered a new room when we told them. Location is ok, about ten minute walk from Lebuh Chulia/central Georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CresswellH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

Your valuable feedback gives an insight of how we could improve further. Thank you very much.

I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel and making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience. See you soon

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    552
    307
    90
    69
See reviews for
232
353
204
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

1st time experience staying at the hotel, having to purchase credit for air-cond use was also my 1st time. I had to think about the electrical bill saving into my budget. Well, it is rather cheap and considerable price!

I love the sight from the hotel window where I stayed. I had also extended my stay for 1 night.

The room housekeeping is nice and tidy. And being a very strategic location whereby walking distances to shopping malls e.g. Perangin Mall, Pacific Mall, 1st Avenue etc. is really a plus!

Overall, I really love the experience being at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuahCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is quite convenitent, its clean and close to Packson mall and resturant, the room is not very big but very clean, the bed is enough for 2 people, there is a barkey and noodle resturant opposite to the hotel.

Room Tip: Take bus 401 or 401E and get of at Kotamar station, then 10 minutes walk to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We offer the basic; a comfortable bed and hot shower for a wonderful slumber experience, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices. Our rooms are space-challenged, but they're impeccably clean and perfectly adequate as "crash pads".

Our limited service concept encourages guests to spend less within the hotel itself, driving more spend outside the hotel.

Keeping things clean, comfy and compact helps in regulating affordable pricing, thus, translating them to saving for guests.

Thank you so much for the feedback and we happy to be part of making your stay a worthwhile experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice clean and cosy room to stay in. A wonderful experience definately. One plus point is that you have those wonderful ceiling fan attached to the ceiling. It certainly works wonder when you are in need of some really cool air in the room after a hot day out.

Room well maintained! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcusmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune a charm for the ones looking for good value for money. We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

We have always endeavoured to provide the best within our limited service concept.

Thanks for being our guest and for this review, once again. Looking forward to having you back soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Firstly, its clean, tidy and close to KOMTAR Tower. That's all the good about this hotel. They are expensive for the size and service they provide. Rooms are too small. You cant keep two travel bags in the room, it fills up all empty space in the room. You need to pay extra for any toiletry, A/C can be taken hourly basis (not bad), any other facility is room is also pay on use basis. Hotel is situated at a walk able distance from KOMTAR or you can take local bus which will stop in front of this hotel. But you wont get a bus back to KOMTAR from here as its one way and better take a taxi or walk (difficult if its hot).

But that makes you upset is you cant checkin till 2pm even if they have vacant rooms! And you need to pay to keep your luggage in their care if you want to roam around till the time room is allocated. I feel you can get better hotel for similar rates and go here only if you get a very good deal.

Room Tip: This is just for stop over for the night guys, never for long stay travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prash7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the TA review.

We provide the basic for a good night sleep; clean rooms, comfortable beds and relaxing power shower for a great slumber experience

Providing the basic helps keep prices competitive. We reduce the room size and complimentary extras whilst simultaneously lowering the prices we offer.

Facilities you find at regular hotels are packaged as add-ons to offer options, and ultimately the choice to tailor make your stay that's easy on your pockets.

Our budget friendly concept, allows guests to use these savings to splurge outdoors.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for a place that is clean, secure and value for money. Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

it's my 2nd time to penang. good location, close to local food, nice and helpful staff with clear guidance. it's not far from Komtar, if you go by walking, only cost you 10mins, where you can take MPPP free shuttle bus to those places of interests in downtown, also there're other buses you can go to beach, temples, airport, jetty...and so on. Also, you can easily find a lot famous local restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceci l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Our concept and pricing typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Location is very very good.it is strategically located in the centre of Penang Town.At a cheap price,my family of four managed to get 2 comfortable connecting rooms.And not to forget a very powerful shower!The only disadvantage is the parking.Very limited and you have to park opposite the hotel on the streets at a low price with no security.

Room Tip: Corner rooms got a good view of the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeiLi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Our concept and pricing typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#25 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#31 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#46 of 79 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#41 of 79 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Property: Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing