We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tune Hotel Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean and very Friendly Staff especially En Amin from the front office.
Keep up the good work.

The only thing i would like the Hotel to have is to installed TV set in the room and cost it into the room rates. The room is very comfortable but very lonely without a TV.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window view as the rooms are a bit quite without a TV set. Unless you do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2266_8681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.
Great to see you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you throughout your stay. I have passed your comments onto the team this morning, who I know will appreciate them.

Thank you for the review and we hope to have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Where to start! Check in is @ 2pm not a minute before.... The building is old and out dated. I know this is a budget hotel and u get what u pay for but this is a joke. there looks to be holes with concrete plugs in every wall not sure why? Every wall has grubby marks on them, the floor looks like no one has cleaned it ever..was scared to walk bare footed. The bathroom was still dirty from the previous guest with toothpaste still on mirrors and shower screen. I would advise to bring ur own pillow as theirs are stained yellow from peoples body fluid and covered in hair. We bought WiFi only to find out that it will only work on one device at a time. This place was pretty bad that we only stay about 30min b 4 getting outta there. Didn't even check out just left ! We didn't get to see other previous guests photos showing the same issues as ours until we had arrived at the hotel ourselves. I have also taken photos and would highly recommend that u look elsewhere for accommodation whilst in Penang.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

However I regret to hear that cleanliness level was not up to your expectations. Cleanliness is always an important factor that we promise to deliver. We ensure action taken to improve.

Unfortunately, we missed the mark on your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you don't need frills, this is a great place. Great food on both sides. Nice big rooms with windows that open. A very nice bathroom with a window that opens. The only down side is that it is rather noisy-- not from street noise, but you really hear the people in the next room. The rooms are separated by thin doors that can be opened if you want two rooms. Also, you can hear people if they are talking in the hallway.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vayabien29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tune hotel claims to have 5 star bedding at 1 star prices. This is true, they have a good quality and comfortable bed. We even overslept for 10 hours at that bed. Other than the bed, we are less happy to stay at Tune hotel. True they have 1 star price if you are stick with a very basic accommodation - a true 1 star hotel rate.

First, they charge you for almost everything. They charge you for towel, amenities, wi-fi, for an early check-in, and even if you want to leave your bag at their hotel because you don't want to pay for an early check-in fee or when you want to use some wandering time after you check out, while you are waiting for your night flight out of Penang.

And, second, we did not like the room. Small, unclean, no tv and it is not easy to find halal food around the hotel especially at night time. The only option is the convenient store downstairs which open for 24 hours and sell variants of instant noodles.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atina_Atina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

travelling with family in penang during chinese new year for a better season fantasy in chinese community area but end up with a very bad impression on TUNE.

everything must have a FIRST time. we decided to have a try on the TUNE, since its assured travellers for 1st star price and 5 star sleeping experience.

beside No tv, no fridge, very very small rooms, dirty floors, dirty toilet, like nobody do house keeping, the worst is our safety is not assured. u knew? we have falls sleeps by a 4 times of FALSE Alarms during 2 days in TUNE, and some more terrible is during midnight 3am fire alarm is on but nobody informed whats going on, I quickly wake up my wife and ask her stay in the rooms( its 3 times ady b4 this bt got people informed its a false alarms, but to measure again...) i ask my wife and mum quickly taken all the important belongings , wait a while i go out turn around at the same floors to check whats the hell is really happened, hey man! 3 am, u know, nobody informed whats happened...HELL, finally i met 2 guest and they also dont know wht to do, i even see another one ady taken his belonging going down, i quickly back to rooms and wanna take a move ady, finally the hotel announced thats a false alarm, AGAIN...after 15-20 minutes....DO u DARE to stay????? i need someone to answer this....dont say its a guest who smoke, its not a good excuse...

we have move to other 4 star better hotel in GURNEY after that..

WE have booked a flight ticket from airasia to bangkok, initially b4 this we will want to book TUNE, but after this i realised, i better pay for a higher premium for my own life and soul security...

thank u...

Room Tip: what tips u want? sleep also canot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

First of all, please accept our deepest apologies for all of the inconveniences and shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear about the discomfort you encountered and appreciate your letting us know in writing so that we can move forward and improve in these areas.

Unfortunately, the fire alarm triggers when guests smoke in their rooms. Though the hotel team has put up reminders, this has always been challenge to contain such occurrences.

We are in discussion to upgrade our current alarm system to a version where we could isolate which are the rooms that are contributing to the trigger.

Please rest assured, we are working on measures to improve our shortcomings and to deliver everything we have promised.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I traveled from the other side of the world to reach Penang. A few days earlier, we had booked this hotel using the Internet and missed the Add-on extra (air conditioning, towel, etc.) purchases. After we made booking we sent an email to their headquarters and asked if we can purchase Add-ons on arrival and using the remaining "credit shell". The hotel headquarter responded "the local staff will happily sell you Add-on extras and deduct the costs from your credit shell".

The locality:

Not in great walking distance when when you travel from the airport unless you take a bus and a taxi afterwards. Taking a taxi from the airport could prove very expensive. The pedestrian routes in the street are full of holes and bumps so walking with luggage could be a pain.

The room:

Very basic room, not clean. The shower and toilet compartment was full of very small insects, which I called tiny ants, but could have been moths or something else. I usually put my laptop on the desk before sleeping. When I started it in the morning, I found myriads of these insects moving around it and going in and coming out of the machine :(.

The bed:

I found that pillows were very dirty but covered with a washed pillow case. For hygiene, you cannot use the pillows if you sweat in the night.

The staff:

The "manager", still a young guy, was rude, irresponsible, unwelcoming, and exercising a double-standard.

Despite we had been told by the hotel headquarters that their system allows using the remaining credit shell to buy Add-ons on arrival, we were told on check-in that your remaining credit shell cannot be used and you have to pay cash. We were told that the credit shell will have to be used to book new rooms or will expire. This to me sounded like a double standard and miss-management of the hotel. The staff then forwarded us to her manager who very reluctantly sold us some of the Add-ons but said you cannot buy breakfast using the credit shell. It was not until I produced the email from their headquarters to one of their staff members that I were able to also purchase breakfast using credit shell.

As we realized that their computer system gave them full access to my account and ability to increase or decrease the credit shell, we realized that they were greedy and pushing for more cash. They "knew and could" deduct the costs from my already paid money in my account credit shell.

Overall:

I certainly do not recommend this hotel. Do not fall for the apparently lower costs as you will have to pay too much extra for air-conditioning, towel hire, etc. At the end you will get a very basic room that has dirty pillows and moths and will have to put up with and pay for the hotel management greed. The room is very basic and the hotel excuse for all this is that we provide basic service for a cheap price. For god's sake they should at least exterminate insects from the hotel rooms by regularly using pesticides, etc.

Room Tip: Not at this hotel. Book at a another reasonable hotel as you will not need to pay for towel hire. At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoloTraveller1978_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us. and for the review.

My apologies for the events that had marred your stay experience. To clarify, the credit shell can only be used to purchase individual add-ons and not packaged ones, such as the comfort package. Breakfast can only be purchased online together with your bookings.

Cleanliness has always been a substantial part of our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us. I've notified the relevant team to improve on this area.

Please connect with us during your stay if we fell short in anything we have promise to deliver and I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel near to bus stop ( TM point ) you can go to batu ferringgi, Thai and Burmese temple, Penang hills, botanical garden and 15 mins walked to market must bring umbrella and sunny it's really warmed ESP 10am-2pm..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonaMagtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 87 in George Town
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 87 in George Town
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#33 of 87 in George Town
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#55 of 87 in George Town
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 87 in George Town
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $23 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing