We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Tune penang is complete value for money , room is of decent size considering the concept also compared to LCCT , pre booked it for RM 100 for 2 nights was in two minds after staying at Tune LCCT for one night.
Location is good 5 minute walk to KOMTAR , next to hotel is New world park where breakfast is available ( old town cafe / Starbucks ) .
Room is clean & Bed was comfortable .
Staff at hotel are friendly & polite , ready to help
If on short visit to penang & have to spend most of time exploring the island will definetly opt for this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money. We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. We want our guests to enjoy our 5 star beds, the soothingly powerful shower.

We have always endeavored to provide the best within our service concept and fulfilling our promise of wonderful slumber experience.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    562
    313
    94
    73
See reviews for
239
362
211
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our Tune experience was generally excellent. Close to the Komtar shopping and bus hub - excellent food nearby, a walk to the heritage area of Georgetown.
The staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful, rooms clean, reasonably quiet but rather cramped with little room for luggage, beds excellent as were the bathrooms.
Only downside was the lack of security on the WiFi internet service - all messages could be hacked .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked and paid 2 nights at Tunes Hotel Penang, but decided after the first night to check out of this hotel and then move to another hotel.

Pros :
- Location is good. Right next to a Starbucks, and about 10-15 min walk to the hawker stalls on Jalan Macalister.

Cons:
- there is very limited carpark inside the hotel (ie 15-18 spots?). So first come, first serve.
- check in is on Level 2, and it feels like an Air Asia airline counter at LCCT. No class.
- Room is very small, even a double bed with window.
- Room is very noisy, especially noise from the window and also from the corridors. I can hear scooters riding by on the road. I can hear people walking in the corridors outside.
- Bed is not comfortable.
- Floor is dirty
- We ordered the towel amenity set. We got a very thin cheap towel (and told to return it at the end of the stay) and also one disposable soap and one very small detergent that they call shampoo / conditioner

It was a terrible night sleep, so we decided to check out one day early and find another hotel.

I will not return to Tune Hotel. Maybe this basic "motel" appeals to some people because of the price and location, but it does not appeal to me.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with window. It is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

We hope to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

shouls expand ur tune hotel location throughout malaysia.
....1 state 1 tune hotel..nice hospitality, room alittle bit small and congested...
Convenience location as just a walking distance from georgetown....provide more parking space and should have more facilities and bfast venue.


Should allow a free wifi in ur hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliekutaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We move to room with good view in 2nd day, the room is better. Clean, very affordable price. We got 300 myr only for 5 days stay. I think they should have TV (even pay), like another Tune Hotels in Malaysia or Bali. And the Internet should be not 24 hours continuously, like the AC. Because impossible we will use 24 hours continuously. Normally we will use evening after comeback from the Tour then continue again next evening. There's nice food between the hotel and new world park, the lunch is very nice. Recommend!!!
Overall nice hotels!!!

Room Tip: Asking for room with view city, don't ask for room that facing window another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmpusJantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your post stay review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very clean, and comfortable environment. I only need to pay those facilities that I need. eg. air conditioner, TV...
One thing not so good is no enough parking. If there is plenty of car park, I will book this hotel without second thought for my next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kltang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review

Our hotel essentially operates on a limited service concept, parallel to a “pay as you use concept” Since we are a Limited Service Hotel, we provide the basics for a good night sleep.


For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, and air-conditioning, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a person who is very particular about my hotel room, and I find this good enough if you are visiting Penang. When in Penang, no one will stay much of their time in room. You will only need a place to sleep + clean up and Tune Hotel is just the right place. Located strategically near all the yummy food and must visit places. Saves a lot of money on transportation cos the location is so strategic you only need your feet and a map to travel around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot shower, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#41 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing