We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed December 7, 2012

it's clean and cozy, i have a great sleep over the nite.
tune hotel penang is located rite in the centre area of the penang town. so its very convenient for the tourist to walk around in penang town.
the bad thing about it is the parking issue where if you drive here, you need to park at the parking next to the hotel which is a food court area in a slightly high rate.
another thing is my roon shower area drainage seem to be some blockage that make the shower flood everything after shower and need some time for the water to drain out.
overall satirfied for a budget rate hotel.

Room Tip: choose room with view if you would like to see the view of penang...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

We check into this hotel eager to find out if it live up to its reputation for being the great budget hotel ever. The location is great, lots of eateries nearby, reception handled our check in very efficiently, rooms allocated to us urgently required attention by housekeeping. Floors were not wipe, bathroom tiles mouldy condition, and the bedsheets needed to be replace. Lots of wear and tear and stain here and there. Highlighted it to the reception only the next morning as we check in at midnight earlier. Said they will check it out, but when we return to the room late nite, condition remain the same, nothing change. So it's like our request turn to deaf ear. Well, can be budget hotel, but still don't think that cleanliness in the room should neglected. It's budget but not free. Would appreciate if room and beddings are clean, welcoming state.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csfKuching_Sarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

Cleanliness is one of our crucial focus points in our service culture and we regret that it fell short of your expectations. This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

Nonetheless, we apologize if in any way we feel short in this respect. Hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Only necessary bare essentials are available. Comfortable overnight stay. Car park bays @ Penang insufficient. Overnight parking @ adjacent car park in Penang very expensive. Ipoh has underground car park spaces, and it's free! Counter staff courteous & efficient, making check in and check out process quick & painless

Room Tip: Understand your travel requirements prior to making room booking. Everything can be optional, except...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kok Wai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is strategically located above 7e, a western cafe, beside Starbuck and Old Town Cafe and the famous Penang New World foodcourt and shopping outlets. The efficient Rapid Penang is also available to the Jetty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikahmad k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Small parking spaces.. been staying at few TuneHotels before gave me some expectations. So I'm not gonna review the room as it's really great value for your money. The differences are; the front liners are friendly, warmth and helpful. They even gimme free trial for internet before we decide to purchase. That's cool. 3G connection in the room a bit weak so you might wanna consider to have internet. Speed wise is fine. It was easy to go everywhere from the hotel, if you drive, parking is limited but you can park at the road side opposite the hotel. You can even extend your checkout time for only RM15. What a great deal! Go TuneHotels ^^

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaKaNaSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

i will surely stay again at tune-hotel the next time i visit penang. stayed for 3 nights with my kids. very resonable rooms rate for 2 rooms and its affordable. for sure, i will introduce to my friends cos the location is really great. very convenient. lots of restaurant and very nice foods to eat near by. the hotel loby is big and a lot of guest have gather together watching football match. Malaysia vs Indonesia. proud to share, Malaysia won 2. having great time watching tv with peoples that we first time met. really is one malaysia. this is really a special cases. i am sure u will agree to it.
oh, on 2nd dec, suddenly the alarm started to ring but luckily nothing happen. its was announced that someone have been smoking inside the hotel rooms. well, we have great experience anyway. my children have great fun too and we really have a great stay in your tune hotel.....

Room Tip: nil. for me, its ok. no comment
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linghua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

the place was strategic, comfortable yet affordable. Convenient as it was near many eateries and a short distance from Komtar and Times Square and there was a 7 E at the ground floor. Reception staff was very efficient and friendly. Parking is limited but Tune guests are entitiled to discounts at adjacent parking lots.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#35 of 85 in George Town
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#34 of 85 in George Town
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 85 in George Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 85 in George Town
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#54 of 85 in George Town
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#49 of 85 in George Town
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing