We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money at Tune Hotel Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money at Tune Hotel Penang”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was concerned that the room would be very tiny, like the bedsits in London, but was pleasantly surprised that it was large enough to not be uncomfortable. Excellent location, fantastic value for money. Service was great too. There were issues - clogged sink (within the first hour of checking in), water dripping from AC, but these were fixed pretty quickly upon giving the feedback to the front desk. Internet access (via wifi) was slow (I am used to >5Mbps) .. but I'm not sure whether this is because of Penang infrastructure in general (no FTTH infra perhaps?) or a Tune Hotel issue.

Room Tip: Although centrally located, the room that I had on the higher floor (facing away from the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnadarajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dearest Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Clean, comfortable and value for money. That's our pride. Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. We focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    563
    315
    95
    73
See reviews for
239
363
215
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good price, good hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. I request joining room and they delivered it although I have to wait 10 minutes for but it worth to wait.

Great location at the heart of George Town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALeeAkbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is my 4th time staying in Tune Penang; we managed to booked for 3 nights with my wife and daughter. The room are clean and cozy.
This hotel are strategically located at downtown area (just 5 min walk from Komtar), but if you drive to Penang, you may facing limited parking space within Tune premise (RM5 per entry)
But no worry, just park your vehicle opposite to Tune Penang (across Jalan Burmah), not many parking lots but I managed to park my car everytime I visit there.
Over-night park at New World Park car park very expensive (over RM15)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenardKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Tune Hotel Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We operate on a limited service concept, which means we provide the basic; bed and shower. The rest are indeed optional, you only pay if you need them. This helps in keeping prices competitive, where guests pay for only what they need.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

Once again, thanks for being our guest and for the review.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room is small but clean and comfortable, very good location to find food and "mirrors George Town". But remember, lobby is at 2nd floor, staff also very kind. I'm here for 3rd time, and I will back here again if I come Penang with my friend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukwanyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us. and for the review.

We put a lot of emphasis on ensuring that out hotel is functional and that, guests enjoy soothingly powerful shower for a relaxing treat.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to sleep your whole gang of family while visiting Penang, Tunes Hotel is a very reasonable option as it caters to the basic needs of a clean and comfortable room at a very competitive price. It is also centrally located in town with many shopping and food outlet at walking distance from the hotel itself. Convenient and reasonably priced, clean and friendly environment! Great place to visit Penang and still keep it affordable for the whole family clan!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agape32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice place to stay, very convenient and clean. Highly recommended. It was my first time to stay Tune Hotel. Great location! most of the food stalls and restaurant i wanted to go are within walking distance. Great Price. the rooms are clean and you really do pay for what you need to use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izac1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

I am glad that we have met your expectations; making your stay a warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was my first time to Penang and i have not regretted choosing this hotel.

First of all, Great location! most of the food stalls and restaurant i wanted to go are within walking distance.

Great Price. the rooms are clean and you really do pay for what you need to use. Toiletries and aircon usage are add-ons and does not come free with the room.

Room Tip: If you paid for the aircon, do check if it was activated the moment you slot your key card in for po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

I am glad that we have met your expectations; making your stay a warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#27 of 84 in George Town
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#50 of 84 in George Town
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#56 of 84 in George Town
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing