We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Tune Penang is a small hotel, nice clean bed with good air-conditioning, ideally located in Jalan Burmah. If you're traveling with tight budget, this is definitely a good place to stay. The room is budget size small but perfect for a short stay.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Miredo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at in terms of value for money. They do not impose all the western luxuries like TVs, air conditioning, towels, newspapers and such things. You simply pay a few dollars extra for what you really need beyond what your $16 gets you. $2 for a towel, maybe $5 for air conditioning for a week if you don't go overboard with it. $16 is absolutely incredible for a clean, quiet, well located hotel for travellers that just want a place to get a good night's sleep and enjoy a clean bathroom. Compared to another dive we stayed in before changing hotels, the Super 8 Penang, this hotel was a breath of fresh air.

Most of the complaints in the other reviews are things you get in any hotel in this part of the world. Tune is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent stay at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang.

It is certainly a rewarding pursuit for the ones who plan and book ahead and a real treat for budget conscious back packers and perfect for people who just want a good price on a user pays basis.

We provide options for guests to tailor their stay to suit their budget. Where a regular hotel gives you the complete stay package; perhaps for a similar price, they do not offer their services on a modular basis unlike we do. Thus, you would not have the option of a cheaper stay.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

If u're traveling with tight budget, this is definitely a good place to stay. Because u can get the rate at extremely cheap price moreover it's situated at a convenient and strategic place which a few shopping mall is just nearby! Places in Penang is also accessible near the main bus terminal near Prangin Mall.

Back to the hotel, I've been staying in tune hotels in places like kota kinabalu and Kuching before. The hotel gave me the impression as what its slogan as "5 stars experience price at 1 star."
However, tune hotels in Penang, the cleanliness and the room amenities just same as 1 star hotel as well!
The floor is so dusty and and air conditioned came out in very annoying sound! And some even leaking!
Think the hotel management needs take note on the cleanliness for the comfort of the tenants!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank ject83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

Cleanliness is one of our crucial focus points in our service culture and we regret that it fell short of your expectations. This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we hope to have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Pros: Value for money, power shower awesome, free (30 min) usage of Internet and PC at lobby.
Cons: Carpark space limited, "stuffy" (when windows closed) or "noisy" (when windows opened)

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank malsemaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

1) services are fast and great. during last day staying (AND 2hours before check out time), i lost my password for the security box. after i lodged report at counter, just after 8minutes, the staff came to resolve problem (reopen the security box). even during check in and check out, NO hassle, everything just very fast. great services at very affordable price.

2) the location of tunehotel penang, is STRATEGIC, during my 4days staying at tunehotel penang, even i drove there, BUT all my visiting to Komtar, Eastern and Oriental hotel (seminars), lunc/dinner, was made by WALKING (no driving). only time not walking was during mt visit to Gurney Plaza (took a bus just in front of tunehotel penang bus stop).

3) all are great, except.. the toilet seems 'unprivacy'. no lock and BOTTOM of toilet door is transparent.. sometimes just not comfortable to do a 'toilet' thing.

OVERALL, me and family happy and glad had chosen tunehotel penang --- great services and VERY competitive price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Hi There,

Thanks for the review

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices.
Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

No breakfast, insufficient parking (only 15 spaces), no towels (need to pay), no TV, no soap/shampoo, no newspapers, no air conditioner (need to pay), late check-in (after 2 pm), early check out (before 11am), small room with only a maximum of 2 feet walking space around the double bed. No coffee table and chairs, no writing desk except a fold down panel board. Noise from corridors and street. I guess the only thing you can shout about is the bed which is of reasonable quality however without extra pillows.

Only plus point is the central location.

Room Tip: Only consider if you do not need parking space and if the room charges is dirt cheap like <RM30/n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestJohn331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

- Friendly hotel staff.
- Best location
- Convenience store and restaurant inside the hotel
- New World Park shopping center beside this hotel
- A few steps to Komtar, 1st Avenue Shopping Mal, Prangin Mal
- Easy to find public transport such as Taxi and Bus
- Don't miss the delicious Chicken Rice beside this hotel
- Best Bed and Clean Room
- Shower in bath room is very good

Room Tip: Chicken Rice beside this hotel is very delicious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irwanwijaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 87 in George Town
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#35 of 87 in George Town
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 87 in George Town
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#55 of 87 in George Town
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $21 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing