We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad its been left to the elements”

Old Protestant Cemetery
Ranked #22 of 124 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Sad its been left to the elements”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I felt sad when I visited this cemetery it's totally been left to the elements and sad to think that no one cares for this little piece of England in a country so far away, it was interesting and very historical people died so young. The trees made it a shady although not cool place to visit in the high temperatures We visited in march 2012

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shandylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    128
    49
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Haunting”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Easy think to do, take insect repellant if your susceptible but worth hunting out Sir Francis Light's grave

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A UNESCO World Heritage Site - Penang's Pioneers Buried Here”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Christian ceremony is worth a visit. There are a few free Sunday tours. Check with the Tourist Office on Beach Street by the Clock Tower and HSBC Bank building for time and date. This is the final resting place of famous Penang pioneers such as Francis Light, James Scott and the husband of Anna Leonowens, who became school teacher to the children of King Mongkut of Siam in the early 1860s. Do you remember the classic 1956 movie 'THE KING AND I', starring Yul Brenner and Deborah Kerr as Anna?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

An amazing place to see, fascinating place to see. Many of the people died so young, was interesting to look around and see the graves. The area isn't maintained but it all adds to the character. Worth a look around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyGodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a mesmerising visit”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

One of the stop in our photography tour of downtown Penang was this 200 year old cemetery,specifically to visit Francis Light's tomb.

But we didn't expect to be truly taken in by the historical significance of the whole cemetery. We ended up spending quite some time at the cemetery trying to absorb the architectural magnificence and the stories of the people who were buried there as etched on their tombstones. Many of them died well before their time.

It was a moving experience for us and we highly recommend a visit here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauritiusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Protestant Cemetery also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Old Protestant Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing