We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and expensive”
Review of Peking Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peking Hotel
Ranked #65 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The lady at reception is just not nice at all. The room was nice, clean and big; bed linen not so clean. The old guy who show you the room was very friendly but looked to be tired of life.
I spent 1 night and it was enough because the atmosphere is not funny.
The hotel is placed in front of the chinese night market so it's good for dinner.
I went in february 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JustforfunKohPhangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Another no thrills, basic but clean enough.
No meals or breakfast and no kettle in room.
SHower with hot water. Occasionally get ants in the rooms due to previous occupants.

Important note! No Internet and no TV Channels in English Language

Located at far end of busy street, best in late evening when street stalls open for food. Near The Malaysia Hotel.
Classic, old Chinese-British Colonial style building which backs onto a cemetary.

.

Room Tip: I have no idea, sorry. Most, if not all rooms have steel railings on the windows anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed at the Peking at the end of the month, looking for accommodation that would not break the bank and stumbled upon the Peking Hotel. Run by a family of Chinese/Malay decent, I found the service good, respectful and helpful. The room was simple with hot shower and the bed comfortable enough. Located on Penang Road, across from the night food market and near the ferry service, with taxi stand just across the street, what more could I ask for. Very Good!!

Room Tip: I did not hear any extraneous noise at night so very quiet and a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank growler202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
3,810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 87 in George Town
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
656 reviews
2.5 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Hotel

Address: 50-A Penang Road, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Number of rooms: 308
Also Known As:
Peking Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing