We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for less money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hang Chow Hotel

Hang Chow Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hang Chow Hotel
Ranked #67 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for less money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really clean budget place (35 Rm per night / double room)
Simple but big rooms (not wet), high ceilings
Really nice people.

Little misunderstanding by paying at the end of staying. Better to do check-in at the start of stay :-)

Good position: in the midle between Comtar and old town

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon_Ledvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The owners and one staff are quite friendly and the place is clean. But, my first night in an AC room on the second floor resulted in an attack by bedbugs. I had bites all over and had two large bedbugs killed for proof to show the one staff member. I explained to her and one of the owners that I wouldn't feel comfortable paying for the night being that I couldn't sleep a wink. They said no problem. They were reasonable (quite rare in the budget guesthouse world) so instead of stomping out as I expected to do, I changed to a fan room and stayed for the next three nights. There is a mosque nearby with its call to prayers and the fan rooms share those makeshift walls that provide no sound insulation, but if you have a no/quiet neighbor, it's fine. This is an instance where the owners/management made a positive difference despite the bites...............

Room Tip: In the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazaarmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in the Hang Chow for four nights. Good, clean hotel. We stayed in a fan room for 35 RM. The room was on the corner at the back, ensuring a nice air flow and good light. Beds are good and they provide towels. Only downside is that it is fairly noisy, even at night. The 50 RM AC rooms without windows might tackle that problem, but we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed solo at Hang Chow for 2 nights in one of the rooms with a double bed and attached shower but shared bathroom for 50RM. The rooms are clean and simple, you can request a towel. Working and adequate A/C and Wi Fi. I came back after a trip to Langkawi which the owner helped me get my ticket and stayed in a room with 2 double beds as that is all they had, which has no attached shower/toilet.

I would recommend Hang Chow for simple clean rooms with friendly staff.

Room Tip: My room on the 2nd floor was quieter as it was away from the street. Noticably noisier in a room nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

I went to Penang with my girlfriend in April for four days. On the first night we went the Crystal Guesthouse and stayed in a double room with washroom. The room was quite small, dark and needed a bit renovation and a better bed. The room cost us 60RM per night and we thought we should treat ourselves better for the next two nights.

On the second day we found Hang Chow all the way down Lebuh Chulia. It was very close to the junction at Jalan Penang. We loved the way this local Chinese style 'hotel' (it's a hostel or guesthouse in my understanding) presented to us: a restaurant on the ground floor providing nice breakfast, and the rooms are upstairs.

The most important advantage of Hang Chow is ROOMY. We were charged 45RM per night for a room with two double beds, with shared bathroom. Bathrooms were clean enough and they provided free Wi-fi, which is very important to travellers. The hotel is run by a local Malaysian Chinese couple and assisted by a Indonesian Chinese helper. The owner helped us to buy ferry tickets to Langkawi with no extra charge, which was very nice.

For me, Hang Chow is a smaller and cheaper alternative to Cathay Hotel (70RM for a double ensuite), and if you don't like the style of Love Lane Inn, Old Penang, 75 Travellers Lodge, Banana, I'll advise you give Hang Chow a try. And I'll definatedly come back and actually I'm coming back in late June!

By the way, just remember to go to Red Garden, a night food centre nearby. It's GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayek1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed at Hang Chow Hotel for 2 nights, a top floor double room, air-con & fan, ensuite hot shower, shared toliet for 50RM per night.

Overall the place was clean, efficently run, had a great location right on the corner of chulia street and served excellent breakfast in the downstairs cafe (superb ice coffee) plus it had wi-fi.

For straightforward, clean, reasonably priced accomodation right in the heart of it, this place is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Diddy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Nice hotel, my room had aircon, and shower, and wifi access, the people are very friendly, and also run a restaurant, all in all i can recommend you this place, i would go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mucahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wassup Youth Hostel
Wassup Youth Hostel
#11 of 104 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wil House
Wil House
#51 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 104 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hang Chow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hang Chow Hotel

Property: Hang Chow Hotel
Address: No. 511 Lebuh Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hang Chow Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing