We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, Nice and Peaceful environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #134 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Affordable, Nice and Peaceful environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely decorations all around the place. Just walk outside will be a bus stop, suitable for those who are travelling without a car. You may park outside the hotel if there is any parking lot, or you may park just across the road but with a fee. At night, you can walk around the hotel, plenty food courts and restaurants around, convenience store, quite lively at night. Not very jam around that area. The room was good and it's with a bath tub! =) Good for those staying for a night or two.

Room Tip: Book early to get rooms at upper floor, it's prettier. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CH_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    62
    58
    26
    26
See reviews for
19
63
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The best thing is it's location, in the middle of restaurants and bars and walking distance from the historic city of Georgetown. Buses pass by frequently, so also easy to catch a bus to explore elsewhere the sites of Penang. I had a room with a private bathroom, which was clean and had hot water. The room is pretty small, as I was using alone it was ok, but it's a double room so I wouldn't think about using it with 2! Could do with some repainting also. There's no outside window, only window to the corridor. On the other hand no streetnoise ! The Wifi is free and fast and accessible in the rooms. There's a travel agency and an internet cafe, but the staff is unfriendly, it seems pretty hard for them to give you a smile ! Which is sad actually. Wouldn't go there again, there seem to be nicer places to stay at Love Lane.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The reception area and walk way to the rear courtyard is charming with ornate ceilings and intricate paint work, a lovely welcome to an interesting hotel. We were greeted with a friendly smile and apologies for not being able to stay in the room we had booked. We were shown to a room in the courtyard. It was clean and the decore was quirky, with innovative use of cement and pastel coloured paint. The room was small but had all the essentials, air con, fan, hairdryer, fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. We decided to stay in this room as it was nice and quiet. The buffet breakfast was pretty ordinary but adequate. Unfortunately guests are allowed to smoke in the restaurant area which is outdoors. The wait staff were helpful but unsmiling. The hotel is central to the jetty,fort and good retaurants. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel that takes you to the jetty in one direction and the beach area in the other. The bus drivers or captains as they are called do not give change so have a collection of coins and low denomination notes. During Chinese new year so quite a few shops and retaurants are closed and it can be noisy as they light fire crackers at night. A great little hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard where it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I only stayed here I night but how lovely it has been renovated and very charmingly.It has acoutyard at the back and as you walk through to reception there ia lovely pool of Koi carp and then a lovely staircase rises up and round.The ceilings are all ornate and the flowers picked out and painted in beautiful colours it is lovely.The rooms are spotless although basic.The staff speak excellent English and were very polite and charming.Breakfast was ok a lot of people had piled up their plates and were tucking in ..myself I am just fussy so they say and only had fruit.But overall a lovely place and central to the attraction and market stalls I would most certainly recommend it and will visit again myself.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking couryard are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My stay at Banana new guesthouse was okay. However, the bus tour experience to Cameron Highlands (organized by Banana tours) was very bad due to the stupid driver. The first bus broke down (still in Georgetown), which was not his fault. We (12 passengers) hopped on a new one, but with 11 seats only. A Dutch traveller and I shared one seat (by one sitting opposite behind the co-driver's seat. We were promised to get a 50 % refund for that - which we never ever received, in spite of calling the company again. Apart from that the driver tried to make up the lost time by driving like a maniac up the road to Cameron Highlands. If you want a convenient, fair and save travel, go with a different tour agency.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joerg_Mannsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We didn`t expect any luxury, but surprisingly, when we opened the door, it was above expectation.
Very modern and spacious, with a lay-out of a 4 star hotel, we couldn`t have asked for any better.
The buffet was decent and the service friendly. The location is perfect when visiting some of the attractions, which can be reached within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room at the backyard, the D-section, which is newer and modern and perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crawlingken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night with friends and it was ok.. Their breakfast was ordinary. We had problem during taking a bath since the divider for that bathrrom and the room was just a stained glass. So everytime we open the light, we can see silhoutte of the person using the bathroom. It's a problem since we have a guy with us and being a Filipina we are somehow conservative. So we have to take a bath without light inside the bathroom and just relying on the light from inside the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sakura_shady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Penaga
Hotel Penaga
#15 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#10 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
0.1 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Boutique Hotel

Property: Banana Boutique Hotel
Address: 422 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Blue Diamond Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Banana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Boutique Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing