We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facility and helpful room service!”
Review of Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Inn
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent facility and helpful room service!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed over few nights with family, I am pleased with the newly renovated and clean room. There was also new TV and free wifi. I am happy with the helpful reception and room service. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
6
6
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just renovated Very wonderful experience when first check in at this hotel, very friendly staff and helpful.The hotel is in the middle of George Town . Rooms are provided full amenities which you cant find in other hotel.Very excellent in cleanliness . Will strongly recomended to my friends and colleges.Not just enjoying at this hotel beside that quite a lot of famous local food store nearby ,shopping center few kilometers away

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfredSTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Glad i stayed over here. The receptionist was helpful with their advice on places to go in Penang and they helped with our itinerary. We manage to get to places like Kek Lok Si and other more classic places. These were my great stay.

Room Tip: Corner units are able to see buildings around you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvinooi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Last april I stayed at this budget hotel during my visit to georgetown.
The room was dirty and the shower was not working well. The receptionist who attend us at the front office was rude.
I knew this is a budget hotel, but at least they can give a better customer service and clean room.
Next to the hotel, there is a dimsum restaurant. The food was nice and the price was reasonable. You can visit the restaurant for breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xiaofoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my friends, room with a queen bed and a single bed. Location not the best, need to have your own transport to make it easier to moving around. The hotel do provide free parking space with an attendant on duty during night times.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Check in was fast and good lift to our room at 3rd floor. The carpeted room is decent, neither spacious nor small. Cleanliness and bathroom size is ok for a budget hotel.

Comes with complimentary breakfast. Since we woke up a bit late for breakfast, nothing much left for us apart from toast. However, an old lady there kind enough to cook fried noodle for us. The food taste was good.

Even so, Garden Inn is an old property, and everything looks aged and outdated. You can find other new hotels with same rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rezzqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Overall it is not bad. Room is good the clearness is good. Offer some instant noodle inside. Clean water offered and tour package. Charge 50% deposit and will be totaled after checking out. But the connection of tv is not good. Overall it is not bad. Room is good the clearness is good. Offer some instant noodle inside. Clean water offered and tour package. Charge 50% deposit and will be totaled after checking out. But the connection of tv is not good. However, it is recommend actually

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonsimon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I usually use another hotel (PPIsland) in Penang, but on this occasion it was fully booked. The Garden Inn is just around the corner so I tried it. The reviews are not too good so I was not expecting a good stay.

I think that the reviews are fairly honet here:-

Older hotel, good location, reasonably priced, very clean. free wifi.

The only downsides are that there is loud karaoke until very late. I was on the top floor and I would have been distubed if I had not been out until 3am myself. The staff are OK, a little dis-interested, I did not take breakfast, but it did not look too "exciting".

I would return, but with earplugs and only on the top floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cram987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Munlustay 88 Hotel
Munlustay 88 Hotel
#57 of 84 in George Town
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eton Hotel
Eton Hotel
#48 of 84 in George Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#54 of 84 in George Town
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#55 of 84 in George Town
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#50 of 84 in George Town
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn

Property: Garden Inn
Address: 41 Jalan Anson, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Georgetown
Garden Inn Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing