We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarkies Corner

Sarkies Corner
Ranked #54 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The place ambeince is execllent but the variety of food needs to be more balanced with good spread of vegetarian dishes. The free flow of bee and wine is a good concept but can you at least serve some good beer and better wine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bakra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    120
    51
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Dined at Sarkies Corner, on 8th May, Had a excellent Evening, Seafood Buffett, very good service,
Staff were friendly and helpful, surrounding were good, very fitting and proper for the type of hotel,
you have the option to sit inside or outside with an ocean view.
Expensive yes, but then the best usually is, One would have to go far to better this dining experience. I have no hesitation in recommending Sarkies Corner.
R.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you ever intend to visit Sarkies annex make sure you check if you reservation is indoors or out.
And if they ever say they're going to ring back, don't count on it. I had to ring 4 times to get a confirmation.

As mentioned, dining tables are set up during the buffet lunch. However the Malaysian weather can get hot (as it was today 5/5/2013) and the maitre'de concurred. So if the weather is hot, why give me a table outside for 11 guest in the hot sun.
If the establishment knows the seating will be uncomfortable, please don't offer these tables at all.

Further, when I asked if it was possible to get me a table inside, all I got were puzzled look like it was a bizarre request. I'm expecting a better response than" ....that's the best we can do". When suggested we would have to go elsewhere , I am not expecting " yah that would probably be better".

It was not until I mentioned that we had booked through the hotels events coordinator, that there was a change in attitude. Tables inside were moved and we got a table inside. Obviously there is/was sufficient room to begin with. I am perplexed to the standard of the hotel with regards to customer service.

Food was at an acceptable standard but probably soured by our initial encounter with staff reservation. They are the face of the establishment and should be a little friendlier and accommodating. I'm not expecting sunshine and lollypops, but a friendly smile and helpfulness wouldn't kill them.

Things I liked best about the buffet is the variety. There is plenty of choices for food and that is commendable. Cakes are pretty good.

PS. check the cooked mussels if you ever order them, some of them were served rotten. Not sure if the message ever got back to the chef.
Oh and check the drinking water, it appears to be heavily chlorinated as everyone's water smelled. I wasn't sure if I was drinking swimming pool water or not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lammyfrmpenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Sunday Great Brunch, Great Selection Of Food At The Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Reservations is the thing to do because tables fill up quickly for Sunday brunch. Get there when the doors open to pick your table inside or outside along the Andaman Sea for a nice view. Take photos of the huge buffet spread before the pickings begin. Then, take your time and enjoy seafood, meat, Chinese, Malay and Indian food. Get your desert early because it goes fast. Beer is expensive. Big problem is telephoning to make a reservation. You get 2 or 3 staff members that pass you along to a 3rd party. Then, hope your reservation is made when you arrive. It wasn't 3 times for me and my party but we were there when the doors opened - so no problem. The reservation manager is no help when you complain. All you get is an apology but he can't fix it with his staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's a bit like eating in a changing room!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I don't mean it's all cubicles and showers but it is all tiled and echoey like a bathroom or swimming pool changing rooms. Not the best setting for a restaurant.

The food, wine and service were all very good which compensated the odd surroundings. There is a good choice offered on the menu and the food is fresh and good quality. I had the steak and it was cooked to perfection. There is also a good wine list, if a little pricey.

The service was good and attentive without being in your face too much.

The busier it got, the louder the echoes. It is possible to sit outside and the terrace is lovely, just beware of the savage mossies!

I know its the old colonial style of the whole hotel but they just need to put down a few big rugs to drown out the echo!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lullabelle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarkies Corner also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sarkies Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing