We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Restoran Kapitan

Restoran Kapitan
Ranked #40 of 907 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Restuarant located at Little india , serves decent indian food , Biryani is must try also Roti tisu & Tea
Food is of great value & a meal for two will be RM 25 approx
Restuarant is very busy & so not very clean
Overall one of the best places to try indian food

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rajat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    422
    189
    81
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food at a very busy place”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was almost full when we went for lunch. The food was served quickly, and both our curries where as expected. We would go here again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vegard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location is ok, staff not so helpful or friendly. I had to call them at least three times to finally place my order. Due to large open space it was a bit stuffy as ventilation not work so well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelsonsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“good food in a dirty environment”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to Kapitan on different occasions and tried many dishes. The chicken tikka is as good as it gets, the chicken tikka masala was fabulous.Mutton was a little chewy but fantastically spiced. The claypot biryani was not so good, same goes for the lassis (better ones to be found in little India just a few minutes away). Great badam (safron milk with almonds) is served from an attached streetstall. The food does not go on par with the general cleanliness of the restaurant. Greasy tables, slippery floor, unbelievable toilet (worst ever). Maybe they should stay open less than the 23 hours and give the place a top down cleaning from time to time..this place would top any list foodwise.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pamaswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
802 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Food as tasty as the prices”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm not knowledgable enough to make claims about this being the BEST Indian-inspired food in Penang but I do know VALUE when I see it - and that's certainly what the Kapitan delivers. For about $9 (AUD) we were served a platter of delicious Indian fare, together with naan and drinks. How good is that?

As you'd expect, the Restoran Kapitan is not fancy. It's very simply presented, it's noisy and busy (you may have to wait) but the staff are friendly and the food arrives promptly. The food is plentiful and tasty and as far as we can tell, it's fresh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restoran Kapitan also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Restoran Kapitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing