We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nyonya Baba Cuisine

Nyonya Baba Cuisine
Ranked #678 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Perhaps a little more pricey than other nyonya restaurants we tried on our trip, but the flavors were unmatched. Further, the service was incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crheimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    20
    18
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went to Nyonya's with high expectations.
People were unfriendly, they were chatting at the back,.
. Nyonya mixed vegetable their house favourite was bland, and served on a wilted and dry lettuce leaf. Fish curry was served unattractively and unsuitable in a bowl dish ; the curry did not have oomph , meaning not enough spices in the dish leaving the taste bland. The Nyonya's spring rolls were soggy and looked like it was cooked with stale cooking oil.
The bill came as soon as we finished eating , excusing that it was closing time. The bill for one of the items was also amended , writing over a 5 to an 8 - cheap.
They closed their doors before we could even take 3 steps outside. Phew!
Definitely do not recommend , and we will not go again. Never !
Must have put on quite a show for Tripadvisor and Anthony.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl1298307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't GO! Foods were serve cold & price is expensive!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The otak-otak was hard, cold & not fresh! Suspect were store in the freezer. Told the waitress & she just turn her back & walk away.
The sambal prawns was not fresh & tasteless! The waitress promoted theirs home cook nutmeg drinks & taste worst than those serve from the coffee shop.
Got a shock with the bill for 2 persons!
We do not recommend to visit this place!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lily1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perhentian, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nyonya Baba Cuisine, Georgetown, Malaysia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I ate a wonderful meal at this location 10 years ago, but as the current Chinese matriarch reminded me, "they close during 'Sars', not here any more, we much better". Well no,
its not better, they still add things to the bill (as per previous reviews), the portions are small, and the food is OK but not worth going out of the way for. The original was called Nyonya Corner and has relocated to Jln Pahang (check on internet). I didn't have time to check it out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food, at its very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A group of four of us friends had a wonderful lunch at this place. The food is heavenly, the service very warm and friendly and the price is not over the top. Overall, an awesome place to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParthaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyonya Baba Cuisine also viewed

Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Nyonya Baba Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing