We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental
Nearby Hotels
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$147
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$160
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La(George Town)
$131
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$109
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$22
$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$46
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
12
81
68
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
81
68
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenang roadsup hameedhotel workersdouble queentaxi standcity viewfood outletswalking distancebus stoprestaurant staffshower headcheap pricebig roomprangin mallbudget hotelbuffet breakfastgeorgetown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 218 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd stay in this hotel since i had my 2nd visa run, well the hotel is pretty much still the same but one thing is new they have a nice batch of trainees at the front, young, attentive and quick. The room is still the same old and smell old(smoky)(or maybe im always assigned to have the smoking room) when i come inside the bathroom the toilet was not totally clean, ders a spit on the bowl which is totally unacceptable but its okai no time to put a cheap fight over something i can solve. The good thing about this hotel though is the water flow and temperature so i just keep using the bath tub all the time, the water is running very nice no need to wait long time for your bath tub to be filled with water like other hotels. And i also met this young employee named BRAIN he works in the bell but he is really nice, i requested for an adaptor and he sends it quickly after knowing that the adaptor is not functioning well i came back to reception and request a new one, what amaze me is he came with me to the room to change the adaptor and check if its really working properly!

As a tip if you really want to stay in this hotel choose a very high floor room! Probably 15++ and choose the one fronting the beach. And this hotel location is really nice. But of course der are better hotels around than this one! So better check other hotels before going here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessie77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located at the top of Penang road near the waterfront. This end is close to the many old colonial buildings near the esplanade which is just a10 minute stroll away. It is also just across from a bar and restaurant area which is quite lively in the evenings. Location is great to serve as a base for your tour of the island. hotel is clean and serves a decent breakfast. The restaurant does good fried rice and simple Chinese dishes, if you don't feel like going out for your dinner. There is also a nice restaurant on the ground floor which serves good western fare. If you want to stay on Penang road, a medium priced hotel such as the Continental is good enough. The price is very reasonable and the security is good. There is also ample parking if you are coming by car.But if you prefer the 5 star luxury, stay on the ferringgi beach area.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILLYazid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We normally stay at Butu Ferringhi, but for this trip we decided to stay in Georgetown and at a cheaper Hotel. The front desk staff and the other staff we came in contact with were very friendly. The check-in was quick and we were soon in our room. This Hotel had some great +'s. We were on the 18th floor in a corner room which provided sweeping views of the port and across the water to Butterworth, The views continued onto all of Georgetown, Penang bridge (and on a clear day, down to the 2rd Penang bridge) onto Penang Hill and down Gurney drive. The windows were double glazed and tinted to reduce street noise and heat. Free wi-fi is provided in the lobby,. The speeds are not great and I was continually having to re-log back on, but I was able to download emails and do some web surfing.The first time we went to use the shower there was no hot water. This was to reoccur 3 more times during our 8 night stay. We were staying over the Thaipusam weekend which saw the Hotel fully booked. This put pressure on the lifts and at the breakfast room. It also meant that there was little water pressure for a shower and again no hot water. Suggest you avoid during peak holiday period. The breakfast was basic, a vegetarian noodle, fried rice, a noodle dish with sometimes prawns, baked beans, chicken sausage, fried eggs and on most mornings scrambled eggs. Plain white bread and a toaster along with butter and orange marmalade were also provided. Fresh watermelon was available some mornings, Chinese porridge and two choices of cereals were also provided along with tea and coffee.

The swimming pool is located on the 6th floor and is in full sunlight until about 5pm, when the setting sun commences to casts a shadow over the pool. No pool towels provided, just take your room towel. Ice is available from the breakfast area during the day and early night. Walking distance to most of what Georgetown has to offer. Do yourself a favour a steer clear of the tourist rip off that is Red Garden. There a many better food outlets such as Ho Ping cafe and Line Clear on Penang Rd, Hameediyah on Campbell St, Tek Sen on Carnavon st.

Remembering that this is a three star hotel, it provided a cheap option when staying in Georgetown and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors, great views. Ours was 1820 and was excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Those who loves drinking ,eating ,clubbing ,singing and even listening to someone singing while you enjoy your dinner in the night can consider here as you need not travel far.I consider the rate reasonable though there are many cheaper hotels nearby .I chose to stay here again during the last minute this time because my M1 mobile happen to be down and I have difficulty to receive and make calls during this trip .This hotel has phone facilities where I need to be contactable and at the same time stay budget .It meet all my needs .

Complimentary breakfast is basic but since I prefer local street foods,I am fine with it.Try to walk along the roads,in the small lanes ,visit the local wet markets in the morning and enjoy a cup of local kopi and local foods in the coffee shop. Famous Chendol and Penang Laksa is just some walking distance away and good for your lunch..
Many wonderful activities to see and its worth staying here .Taxi and trishaws are available.

A bit of improvement on certain particular issue will make this hotel perfect to me.
HC is my choice if I choose to stay in Penang Road.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agongkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Qe stayed on this hotel because of visa run suppose to e staying at banana yet its fully booked so we move here. Hmmmm the hotel is quite big yet very old when you come inside your room the smell cant deny the word old. But the worst thing in this hotel is the breakfast! Like they are serving super cheap foods, the front desk crew are very old and slow hahaha hey granpy its time for you to rest!

So as a tip, don't book this hotel since der are lots of hotels around this area better hotels and cheaper. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews