We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reccomended” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kashmir Restaurant

Kashmir Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Reccomended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I live in Phuket and everytime I come in Penang for the visa I eat there. Really authentic Indian food, kind service and a really good mannered owner. The quality-price ratio is also fine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankMartdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    109
    42
    22
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“above average curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

ironically our first meal at penang was indian. the place was packed on a friday night and we needed to wait outside while having drinks to get a table indoors. we had a chicken tikka mukhali (i know i spelt wrongly) and butter chicken. the chicken tikka had fantastic curry but the chicken was quite burnt. the butter chicken did not have much butter taste in it. overall the curry was good. i saw a different character. there was an old man wearing sunglasses (at night in dim lighting) who seem like the boss. he seemed to know everyone;. he was drinking on one table with a group of friends. once they left, he went on to sit with another table and was talking to them non-stop. minutes later, someone else entered and everyone seem to know each other.. lol. a little expensive, unlikely to return though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gryphonmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Penang about 8.30pm. Very hungry and came across the Kashmir. We actually wanted Malay food but a couple walking out highly recommend this restaurant, so we tried it. The entrance to the basement was a little dingy however what was served up to us was sensational. We had 4 dishes and a couple of beers and had a wonderful night. One of the best Indian restaurants I have ever been to. Its a must!

Helpful?
Thank aliasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Regular Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We lived in Penang for 1 year, and we were so fortunate to find this spot early on. The food is fantastic Indian cuisine, and we were treated like royalty every time we ate there. Sit outside because it gives you an excellent view of Penang life. The food is always good, the beer is always cold, and the service is always friendly. We're back home now, but next time we visit Penang, we'll be sure to stop in!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and Cold beer ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by for a small snack and ended up eating heaps. Food was fantastic and the beer was cold. Great spot to people watch and chill for awhile. Will be coming back

Helpful?
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kashmir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing