We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Indian”
Review of Kashmir Restaurant

Kashmir Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 907 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Indian”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited this resteraunt very recently. We were slightly apprehensive considering many people on here said they found the resteraunt to be expensive. We enjoyed an amazing chicken tandoori, With the chicken being as tender as you could wish to find. We also ordered a chicken dopiaza which again was very nice, if not a little spicy. The total bill came to 75 RM which for 4 soft drinks, 2 naan breads, a portion of rice, a curry and a tandoori dish was more than reasonable. The setting was nice and clean, espcially when compared to many other resteraunt's rated higher on here of which many are very poor where cleanliness is concerned. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Would advise to anyone who likes to eat nice food for a good price in a clean environment as many resteraunt's in Malaysia have very poor hygiene standards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRIPMCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    112
    42
    22
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and a great host”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

As soon as we walked in, the owner had said we had to order the tandoori chicken for our daughter. "Not spicy, and if she doesn't love it, you don't pay" he told us. And love it she did!
The rest of the food was great, the host was perfect, and the bill was reasonable. What more can you ask for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good Food, but you can eat cheaper.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a decent, albeit more expensive, option to the Indian street food and the plastic chair restaurants. The chicken is off the bone, and all the dishes we had were reasonable quality. The pricing wasn’t too bad, except, of course, the beer.

Service was good, and it was a pleasant atmosphere.

We had a selection of chicken, mutton, and vegetarian dishes. Chicken dish was good, Mutton Dupiaza was different to what we were expecting, but it tasted good all he same.

If you fancy something a bit more than street food, or basic restaurants, then you won’t go too far wrong with this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For the foodies.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I think excellent home-style Punjabi style dishes, cooked with care and a discerning palate, beautifully seasoned. The dhals are particularly good, and I thought the tandoori chicken was one of the best I have had out of India, succulent, smokey, spicy. If you are fan of proper Indian food, you will not be disappointed.

Service was polite and attentive.

The only thing that let it down for me was the very loud and mediocre singing which was Bollywooed esque versions of Western lounge music. Not my favourite genre, it has to be said. The music was too loud to hold proper conversations, not the best business setting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T0xicTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, charismatic owner with personalised service!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant at random and were very impressed. The location is ideal to people watch and observe Penang as it is on quite a busy street junction. The staff offered to order on our behalf but were happy for us to adjust the menu as we saw fit. The food was exceptional If not a little on the expensive side by Penang standards.

We at at street level and learned that it was originally only in basement- it is much more than that now.

We had an entree followed by tandoori chicken (signature Dish), lamb ribs (outstanding), Prawn Masala and Dahl followed by a dessert if Kasmir ice cream. We enjoyed nice wine and a very tasty local coffee.

All in all a great night out, highly recommended.

The owner did wear sunglasses at 11pm as one other rater observed, and he did intervene on each meal to encourage on the best way to eat and the best food to order - but we found it charming and that it added a touch, especially as he followed us out to hail a taxi at the end of the night!!

Get there! A great, unique experience!!

Helpful?
Thank Cjkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kashmir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing