We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food service and value”
Review of Jaya

Jaya
Ranked #76 of 894 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food service and value”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Me and my wife ate here
Staff really good and very freindly
Great service food was delicious and very cheap.
Would definitely recommend this place is a must..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italiangrotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    90
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very delicious and cheap!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We went there by random, the staff were nice and smiling, the food was delicious and fast! Two people can eat including drinks with 20rm!

Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawai, Thailand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

One of the advantages of visiting Malaysia is the wide choice of authentic Indian food due to the high proportion of the population having Indian roots. I tried some street side food stalls sampling the roti and murtabak. Yum yum. I visited Jaya one morning because it was raining and the street food stalls were closed. One of the chefs came to greet me, find me a table and took my order. The mutton murtabak with curry sauce was tasty so I'd recommend you try Jaya. It's good value but the ROTI street food stalls would still be my first choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food and quick service”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited this place for a dinner. We were actually very tired after a day's out and still went a long way searching for this restaurant and the fact, it was worth. The food was really great and the service was quickest ever in a restaurant. It is a Nasi Khandar type of restaurant with lots and lots of choices than usual. We tried different varieties and within couple of minutes our order was delivered. Take note that usually in other restaurants, it takes additional time to deliver even "Today's special". Will definitely visit again if I get chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fahd_mn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumatra, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS and so cheap!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

For a US buck or 2 you can eat a meal, anytime of day. Loved the naan, roti or masala prata for breakfast. Masala tea anytime! Also, good place to connect with other foreigners and get travel tips.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonianSumatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaya also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing