We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and comfort on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1926 Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1926 Heritage Hotel
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location and comfort on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with out teenage children after a trek in Sumatra. Great pool, comfortable and close to transport ( Bus 101 from the street outside to the beach) Very quiet we managed to sleep in seriously every morning. Our teens appreciated wi fi internet, although they had to ring reception fr the password. Easy access to all of Penang by taxi or bus and helpful staff. Great out side restaurants - really cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rusanjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    145
    148
    29
    25
See reviews for
84
73
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. It's located a bit outside the old centre of Georgetown, but you can walk there in about 20 minutes. There are very good (simple local) eateries just more or less next door. The charm of the hotel is the old building with its long corridor on two floors hold in cool white. It has the sphere of a colonial building. Nice swimming-pool although the garden around it is not very big. Even if it is located at a big road, it is quiet inside. There is parking space if you need it. The hotel is well maintained, spotless clean and comfortable. Our room was quite small, but comfortable, modern with a good bed. The bathroom is simple but ok. You get a breakfast buffet with Western and Asian choice. The staff is friendly and helpsome. We recommend this hotel – good price/value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick60
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked into here for one night on a visa run from Thailand. It was cheap and cheerful. Room was clean but very basic. Bathroom was ok but shower had a very dirty shower curtain and poor shower, towels were old and grey and very used. The plus was the hotel was in a good location,,ample parking spacing and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We online booking about 2 master 1 superior and 1 small room for our family trip, however they didn't notice us one room cannot over than 10ppls until we check it they just advice to us need take two more small room! Hotel never free breakfast for all rooms we stay except the small room they force us to take at last min got 2ppl free breakfast only! Well, after that 2nd day our family ppl go for breakfast then the serivce guy never advice them to go counter redeem ticket just asking got voucher? If not need to pay rm12/person! After that, we go to counter checking the voucher, the Indian service "lady" is damn no manner at all, direct told us no free breakfast for all our group room, and never check for us!! I never think Penang still got this such hotel service at all, never come here against!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midori_evelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fine as a base to explore Penang. Clean rooms but pretty tired decor. Breakfast was included too and was average. it was a good taxi ride from the ferry.

Positives- Nice pool. Very good value. So cheap, basic, clean but tired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Rooms are nothing fancy but spacious enough and the upstairs rooms have a good size balcony. The pool is really nice and there are fans to keep you cool(ish!) if you want to laze by it. Staff were helpful and friendly. There is no safe in the room but valuables can be left behind the reception. The breakfast was decent if nothing special and helped set us up for the day ahead. It is about a 10 minute walk to Jalan Penang and the little hawker next door is ideal. The one complaint I would have is the kids screaming in the pool at 7am, which is not necessarily the hotels fault but was rather annoying. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the pool if you want to sleep after 7am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Rented Family room for 2 nights over the weekends. Was kind of surprised that there's still painting works and renovation. There is no lift but I stayed at the 2nd storey so it is still alright. But room is quite spacious, though a little rundown, not very clean but acceptable. Free parking but the car park lot is very limited. Price is reasonable, less than 100SGD per night hence did not expect too much. You may consider to stay in this hotel if you are not planning to stay in the room except for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#29 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
1.2 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#36 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
#33 of 78 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#34 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 78 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1926 Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1926 Heritage Hotel

Property: 1926 Heritage Hotel
Address: 227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1926 Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1926 Heritage Hotel has just undergone a refurbishing program which involves changing of all furniture an bedding in all categories of room, the basic amenities are 32" LCD flat panel TVs, tea and coffee making and mini fridge (with the exception of standard room and cottage room) Free wi-fi is standard feature in all rooms and in the public areas.The original building was built in 1926, the property once served as a home to British colonial immigration officers and local administrators of Penang. Located off Imigresen Road and Burma Road, 1926 Heritage Hotel occupies 24 heritage link houses beautifully restored to its former glory.In 1999 The State Government of Penang under PDC (Penang Development Corporation) invested a significant amount of funds to refurbish this colonial property as a heritage hotel with most of its Anglo-Malay architectural essence still intact. Surrounded by spacious rooms, wooden interiors, long corridors, balmy balconies, beautiful victorian windows as well as pictures of the old Penang, a sense of nostalgia can be felt throughout the property. And we top that experience with warm, friendly service.The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic city of Georgetown, founded in 1786 by Captain Francis Light. Listed as a UNESCO heritage city, Georgetown is a one of a kind melting pot of cultures, heritage, foods and festivals from diverse communities.1926 Heritage Hotel is all about bringing you the wholesome experience of the British colonial era and the spirit of Malaysian hospitality from the very moment you step into our lobby. We at 1926 Heritage Hotel are ever ready to go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us will be most memorable. Your satisfaction is our number one priority and we hope that every second you spend with us will be filled with nostalgia of the colonial era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 1926 Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1926 Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing