We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,Cosy & Convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1926 Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1926 Heritage Hotel
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean,Cosy & Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Easy access to all types of restaurants/ food and other parts of Penang. Rooms are pretty old & dark but clean & everything is in working condition. But if you stay on ground floor, you will need to close the curtains. Suitable for short 2-night stay & the price is reasonable - RM 110 per night

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sing-Msia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    146
    152
    37
    26
See reviews for
89
79
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights from 11 Feb 2013 at very low cost. We arrived from the aiport late evening and were told the room we had booked with balcony was not available till the next day because of problems with a ceiling in another room. However we were not only moved the next morning but were given an "upgrade" - tho' we are not sure what the difference was between our original booking and this. A very big room, big bathroom and big bed but we found the mattress too hard for our comfort (but had much the same experience of a haard bed in the two other more expensive hotels we stayed in in Penang, including the top one, the E & O. ). Towels and soap provided and at the low cost one would not expect further luxuries. Breakfast reasonable for the cost, coffee excellent .The pool is delightful to come back to and sit by after visiting the town. However the location is not ideal for exploring the China town and Little India areas. Jalan Burma is one way with the traffic going out of town when we were there - and it was not clear how to get a bus going into town, so we walked the 20 mins. to Komtar (a bus centre as well a a chopping centre) which in greater heat is tiring. However we gathered from the paper that Jalan Burma was about to be made one way in the other direction - into town. The staff were mostly very pleasant and helpful, although the Bangladeshi chamber boys had no English and could not read the difference between the "Do Not disturb" and "Please Make up my room" signs so were liable either to charge in or to neglect the room having failed to read the sign on the door. It is true there are no room safes but the advice is to ask Reception to take custody of valuables in a safe - we risked it by hiding our passports etc as beest we could.The manager, when we asked the best way to get to Penang Hill, expecting to have a complicated bus journey, immediately provided his hotel car and driver to take us there for only 30 ringits (it is easy to get a bus back from there) - a 20 min journey in the morning which would otherwise have taken at least an hour. We ate in the food hawker market almost next door - this is divided by a side road and the section on the further side gives a better choice of food in our view, but fresh fruit juice is only available on the nearer side.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwichKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We check in on 19 Feb for one night and 22 Feb for one night.
The room is small but acceptable as we only paid about 60 USD.

Near by the hotel there is a stall sell fried keow tiao at lunch. Is really delicious.

At night, you may simply take a taxi to near by shopping center to spend the time.

Breakfast is simple, still have area to improve.

The swimming pool is closed for maintenance. If you like to swim, please ensure the swimming pool in working before you book the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plotoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The name of this hotel simply tell's you everything. It is well preserve colonial building with a superb location. Updated furniture with LCD screen, very clean and comfortable, most importantly good services from the hotel staff. They provide cute swimming pool and you can pay extra ringgit to get a room with balcony. Though the selection of breakfast is very limited but you cant expect more for the amount you've paid.Overall I have a nice stay in this hotel and would defiantly comeback there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niniesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel is situated a little way from the heritage centre of Georgetown but buses pass the door.
The building is different from standard hotels in that it was accommodation for British officers during the colonial era. There is a lovely pool to cool off in after a day's sight seeing. Breakfast tries to cater for all nationalities and we were happy with cereal and toast.
In all, good value for money but nothing fancy.
There is a Hawk car hire desk in the lobby, and we negotiated a great one way car hire deal with them on to Malacca via the Cameron highlands which was certainly more convenient than the bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I went there on the last 11-13/01/2013 with my friends. All I could say is I LOVE THIS HOTEL~!!!
I booked this hotel cuz I just wanted to feel how is it feel like to be in Heritage Hotel with low cost.
The design of the building is full with history.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while visiting Penang. To start - Penang is GREAT and if you are visiting Malaysia and need some place to relax and enjoy warmth, some good food, and nice beaches and shopping then spend most of your time in Penang - not Kuala Lumpur.

The hotel is nice and in a convenient location. Easy to get to the beach or malls by bus. (take the 101 bus which is not far from the hotel direct to the shopping malls, Tesco, or Ferringi Beach.)

Check in was easy however they do ask for a 100 Ringlet room deposit - even if you prepaid your room. The room was of an ok size - for some reason we had two beds instead of one large bed as requested but it wasn't a matter for complaint.

Room came with some basic necessities - two towels and a bar of soap - nothing else. No toothbrush or even tissues. TV had 6 channels.

The shower was old and has some ancient type heater that required frequent adjustment and the spray power was just moderate. The temperature was sometimes too hot and sometimes too cold.

Room condition was just so-so. Some bugs and cobwebs - had to kill a few spiders hovering around the bed. They did have adequate clothing storage.

WORST part about the room is safety - there is none. No safe - which means I had to carry my valuables and passport with me everywhere I went. The room was on the second floor but no real locking windows and no screens. Easy for anyone to enter the room if they wanted to. The door did have a little more security as it could be double locked from the inside. When I asked the front deck staff about the hotel safe deposit box the answer I received was too wishy-washy. The girl responded that she was not sure how to receive and secure my valuables.

The air conditioner never really worked well and looked 20 years old and very noisy. AT times it sounded like a Mack truck was parked next to the room - that's how loud the AC was. Room was always way too hot and we had to stuff something inside the key card holder to keep it on while we were out.

The check-in staff were friendly and check in was quick. But the directions on how to take local buses was wrong. When asked which bus to take to Ferringi Beach we were told that there was no direct bus to get there and we had to take the bus into town and change the bus. When we walked to the bus stop and the 101 bus came we asked the driver - he smiled and said " YES! This bus goes to the beach directly". The bus drivers are very friendly and speak enough English to help you. When the bus arrived at the beach he yelled " Ferringi Beach". We thanked him, of course.

I would recommend this hotel ONLY if you can not get a better hotel. While the hotel has lots of history the lack of room security would keep me from staying here again. I could not enjoy peace-of-mind knowing that I had to hide my cash and passport in my luggage in a room that could be entered so easily.

The pool looked ok and well maintained. We ate a meal in the Hainan Chinese restaurant and it was suitable and decent.

If this hotel invested some money in security upgrades it could be a nice and safe place to stay. There are some restaurants and street food within walking distance.

Room Tip: away from the street is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonteBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#37 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#47 of 79 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#25 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1926 Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1926 Heritage Hotel

Property: 1926 Heritage Hotel
Address: Hotel 1926 227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1926 Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1926 Heritage Hotel has just undergone a refurbishing program which involves changing of all furniture an bedding in all categories of room, the basic amenities are 32" LCD flat panel TVs, tea and coffee making and mini fridge (with the exception of standard room and cottage room) Free wi-fi is standard feature in all rooms and in the public areas.The original building was built in 1926, the property once served as a home to British colonial immigration officers and local administrators of Penang. Located off Imigresen Road and Burma Road, 1926 Heritage Hotel occupies 24 heritage link houses beautifully restored to its former glory.In 1999 The State Government of Penang under PDC (Penang Development Corporation) invested a significant amount of funds to refurbish this colonial property as a heritage hotel with most of its Anglo-Malay architectural essence still intact. Surrounded by spacious rooms, wooden interiors, long corridors, balmy balconies, beautiful victorian windows as well as pictures of the old Penang, a sense of nostalgia can be felt throughout the property. And we top that experience with warm, friendly service.The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic city of Georgetown, founded in 1786 by Captain Francis Light. Listed as a UNESCO heritage city, Georgetown is a one of a kind melting pot of cultures, heritage, foods and festivals from diverse communities.1926 Heritage Hotel is all about bringing you the wholesome experience of the British colonial era and the spirit of Malaysian hospitality from the very moment you step into our lobby. We at 1926 Heritage Hotel are ever ready to go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us will be most memorable. Your satisfaction is our number one priority and we hope that every second you spend with us will be filled with nostalgia of the colonial era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your 1926 Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1926 Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing