We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1926 Heritage Hotel
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was old colonial building, we stayed there for 3 nights in family room which is quite spacious. It's like interconnecting room with wardrobe and hangers. provide TV ( not much channels), supercool AC with fast WIFI in the room. No problem checking in/out. Need to give deposit which was refund when u check out.Breakfast was good for value. It was around US$ 50 for family room for 5 with breakfast. one negative point was No fridge in the room. A lot of food stall and eateries nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    155
    163
    42
    32
See reviews for
97
94
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stay this hotel few times on weekdays. I chose this hotel because it is cheap and wih swimming pool.

I book standard room with two single bed. Cleanliness is so so and this hotel is a bit antique feel. A bit run down especially the doors.

Never try their breakfast before but my collegue comment that their breakfast is not nice and nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was fairly clean and functional. It was clear that the sheets hadn't been changed (or were really badly stained - sometimes it's hard to tell). The bathroom was nice and clean, which goes a long way, but BYO toiletries. I like the aged ambiance of the building and each room comes with a very nice balcony, by far my favorite part of the hotel. However, to sum everything up:

(1) Decent hotel with an OK pool, but it is far enough away from Georgetown proper that you'll probably need to take a taxi. It is NOT in Georgetown, so if that is your aim, it's location will limit your ability to come and go.
(2) The desk staff was totally useless. I asked where there was a spa - no idea (is this still Asia?!?). I asked them where the nearest coffee shop was - no idea. My colleague even asked where the nearest bus stop was and instead of sending her to the one 30 m. away, they sent her about 2KM away and it was the wrong stop! All the desk staff can do is check you in & out, and call you a taxi. Do your own research before you go.
(3) Clean enough, but it would seem that there are occasional oversights in turning over the rooms.
(4) Be prepared for a loud stay, as the rooms are not well soundproofed (but it's a 1926 construction, so what do you expect, really?)

The beds are comfortable enough, the hot water is plenty, the aircon was like an igloo, the breakfast was pretty good, and the price is pretty affordable. So, if you want to sacrifice a bit of location and a bit of a clueless staff, you'll be just fine. (Note that there IS car rental right in the lobby of the hotel, so if you get there and decide you just really NEED to get away and see more, you can rent a car right there).

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the pool OR on the side away from the parking lot. Ours overlooked the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawgeek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I got a rate of US$34 per night via a popular hotel reservation website so I wasn’t expecting the Ritz but I can only report factually on my stay and let other tripadvisor users decide for themselves if they wish to proceed with a booking.

Good:
- Swimming pool
- Historical – an old colonial British building

Bad:
- Dried faeces (gecko or bird) on head board
- Dirty sheets
- Dirty toilet – urine stains and faeces stains on seat and rim which I washed off
- Worst bath towels provided during 3 months of travelling S E Asia (super thin and very coarse)
- No hand towels
- Wet bath mat
- Air conditioning smelt terrible
- All rooms lead off a noisy creaking wooden corridor
- Fire escape plan of hotel for wrong room with different layout and location
- Lots of loud barking dogs in the vicinity – traced to a pet shop next door
- A 30 minute plus walk from the main tourist sites e.g. Fort Cornwallis, ClockTower, evening cocktail at the E&O, dinner in Little India
- Restaurant open but chef “too busy” to cook lunch
- Nowhere near the free commuter and tourist downtown bus service
- I checked out early and went elsewhere.

Opinion:
If you want to stay in Georgetown, book somewhere that is either the beach or downtown, not a something in between that offers zero hospitality.

Would I recommend or return to this hotel? No.

Room Tip: If you unfortunately end up here, try to request a cottage room. They are off the main corridor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matts g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room we had was relatively big and was at the end of the long row. Noticed that they had stains on the floor which looked like candle wax. No musky smell, pillows were extremely soft. Bed was okay. Sleep was good as the street behind was quiet. Only on the last day the top floor was moving things around and stomping VERY loudly.

Came with a TV that only show local channels. (TV1, TV2, TV3, NTV7, 8TV and 9TV)

Swimming pool was... tiny. Got mislead by the picture in their website. Think they renovated the place after the picture was taken. Most of the space behind are for cars, which shrunk the pool to half the actual size.

Bathroom was quite big but really needed to redo their dated interior. Had stains on the tiles and the heater was around 8ft tall. Shower curtains were slightly stained. No bathtub.

Overall tolerated with the dated interior due to its affordable fees. Wished the renovation process would speed up. I believe after the renovation it would attract foreigners to stay there as it had the Malaysian elements in it.

Location was a bit far off from town but it was opposite Him Heang Tau Sar Pneah. Cabs were abundance to get to town but to go to airport do ask the hotel to call a cab for you. Surrounding area are foodcourts with good cheap food especially the local cuisine.

The buffet breakfast was below average. Going outside to the nearby foodcourt is better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sphinx87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is my second time staying at 1926 Heritage Hotel, the first time was 13 years ago when they were just about to build the swimming pool. Our critera for a family room during this visit to Penang was a reasonably-priced hotel in the city with swimming pool for the kids and we almost missed this hotel if only we didnt check the facility. Mind you, many people are not aware that this hotel has a swimming pool.

Our room has 1 single bed and 1 double bed on a platform-like bed frame which allowed us to put the 2 mattresses together to sleep 2 adults and 2 kids comfortablly. The room has a flat-screen tv mounted on the wall, 2 lazy chairs, a coffee table, a mini fridge, coffee-making facilities and a dressing table with a chair. The space is ample though not spacious. What we love most about our room was the fact that the back door opens up to the swimming pool. Early in the morning, we could easily changed into our swimming suits and jumped into the pool. There's also kids' pool next to the swimming pool. If you are afraid of noises coming from children enjoying themselves at the pool, request for a room a bit further.

Parking is available but during peak season, it's a little bit of a headache but no worries as you will surely find a place to park.

The only thing I wish they would improvise is the buffet breakfast that came with our room stay. Selection is rather limited and the staff took so long to replenish the food. This happened all 3 mornings we were there.

We would definitely return to this hotel one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room that is near to the swimming pool if your kids love to swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina-NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our visit. It is definately a budget hotel, but the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the location is central to both a bus stop (komtar - the bus depot - is one stop away) a grocery store and decent hawker stalls and the pool really stands out after a day of sightseeing. The front desk was helpful in helping us de-code the Penang bus system and in securing an early morning taxi to transport us to the Ferry upon our departure.

Breakfast is a buffet of rice, chili sauce, egg, cucumbers, watermelon, cocktail sausages, toast, porridge, juice, and a nescafe machine - overall very tasty. Unfortunately they don't start serving until 7, so when you have an early flight or bus to catch you may not get to enjoy it.

Drawbacks included rather hard beds and thin walls.

Room Tip: As other travelers have mentioned, the balconies are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kissthefr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
1.2 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#21 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1926 Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1926 Heritage Hotel

Property: 1926 Heritage Hotel
Address: Hotel 1926 227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1926 Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1926 Heritage Hotel has just undergone a refurbishing program which involves changing of all furniture an bedding in all categories of room, the basic amenities are 32" LCD flat panel TVs, tea and coffee making and mini fridge (with the exception of standard room and cottage room) Free wi-fi is standard feature in all rooms and in the public areas.The original building was built in 1926, the property once served as a home to British colonial immigration officers and local administrators of Penang. Located off Imigresen Road and Burma Road, 1926 Heritage Hotel occupies 24 heritage link houses beautifully restored to its former glory.In 1999 The State Government of Penang under PDC (Penang Development Corporation) invested a significant amount of funds to refurbish this colonial property as a heritage hotel with most of its Anglo-Malay architectural essence still intact. Surrounded by spacious rooms, wooden interiors, long corridors, balmy balconies, beautiful victorian windows as well as pictures of the old Penang, a sense of nostalgia can be felt throughout the property. And we top that experience with warm, friendly service.The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic city of Georgetown, founded in 1786 by Captain Francis Light. Listed as a UNESCO heritage city, Georgetown is a one of a kind melting pot of cultures, heritage, foods and festivals from diverse communities.1926 Heritage Hotel is all about bringing you the wholesome experience of the British colonial era and the spirit of Malaysian hospitality from the very moment you step into our lobby. We at 1926 Heritage Hotel are ever ready to go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us will be most memorable. Your satisfaction is our number one priority and we hope that every second you spend with us will be filled with nostalgia of the colonial era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1926 Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1926 Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing